It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The newest addition to Prestel's highly successful "50...You Should Know" series offers the perfect introduction to the best contemporary photographers and their most iconic works. This globetrotting collection of contemporary photographers and their work is a great way to become familiar with the wide variety of techniques and styles embraced by the medium. Organized chronologically by year of birth, each photographer is introduced in double-page spreads that feature reproductions of their work and a perceptive and concise appreciation of their life and career. From Japanese photographer Daidõ Moriyama, famous for his images of post-war Japan, to Richard Mosse, an Irish conceptual documentarian who uses infrared film to document war in the Eastern Congo from a bold new perspective, this book offers an exciting array of familiar and not-so-familiar works.
In the last decade, interest in photography has exploded. Among the most compelling and popular art forms, photography is now recognized as central to the development of modern and contemporary art. In this accessibly written survey, art photography comes alive through a series of frames--from documentary style and pictorialism to archives, narratives, and the conceptual uses of the medium. David Bate traces major developments and themes from the earliest days of photography, in the 1830s, to the present day, examining the many ways in which photography and art have intersected since the birth of the medium.
More adventurous in scope than other comparable compendiums, "Photo Art" is a vast critical survey of contemporary conceptual-oriented photography. It particularly addresses the work of artists emerging in Western and Eastern Europe--many of whom will be new to American audiences--and presents critical contexts for their work in accompanying essays. Gathering more than 120 image-makers from around the globe, this luscious compendium reads like an international art fair between covers, with the work of artists to watch now and in the future, from established figures to representatives of the newest generation. Each artist's work is given a generous four-page spread, and many of these are embellished with installation views, book layouts and shots of artist's websites.
Unlike many other artistic media, photography's origins are well documented, as are its ever-changing technologies and applications. Written by an international team of experts, this definitive history of photography looks at every step of the field's dynamic evolution, period by period and movement by movement. Each key genre is chronologically presented within its social, economic, and political context, along with close analysis of specially selected works that best exemplify the characteristics of the period.
The most comprehensive reference to the art, history, and science of photography worldwide to date, the culmination of nearly ten years of research and development The Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Photography is a landmark publication that encompasses the history, art, and science of photography in a single volume.
Photography continues to be a central part of international artistic practice. Over the past ten years it has experienced radical changes, in part due to the rise of digital technologies. Photography is now often engaged in by artists who are not just printing in a darkroom, but using the medium as a single aspect of a larger ouvre, as one of several media under exploration.Vitamin Phfocuses on diverse global developments in 'art' photography through the work of 121 contemporary artists, who were nominated by 78 international critics, curators and artists.
The compulsion to dwell on history--on how it is recorded, stored, saved, forgotten, narrated, lost, remembered, and made public--has been at the heart of artists' engagement with the photographic medium since the late 1960s.
With millions of images dating back more than 150 years, this is one of the world's largest archives of historical & current imagery. Updated every minute. Includes news, entertainment, arts, business, and sports coverage from AP and selected partners. The content includes top news stories, photos, audio clips and print graphics.
A multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century; comprised of numerous collections released over many years, including a variety of material types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more, primarily focused on British culture and politics, European literature, and Asian interactions with the West--in one cross-searchable location
This gateway to architecture around the world and across history documents a thousand buildings and hundreds of leading architects, selected over ten years by the editors of ArchitectureWeek, with photographic images and architectural drawings, integrated maps and timelines, 3D building models, commentaries, bibliographies, web links, and more, for famous designers and structures of all kinds.
The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) Photo Library includes thousands of weather and space images, hundreds of images of shores and coastal seas, and thousands of marine species images ranging from the great whales to the most minute plankton. Most NOAA photos and slides are in the public domain and CANNOT be copyrighted. There is no fee for downloading any images on the NOAA Photo Library. Educational use is encouraged as the primary goal of the NOAA Photo Library is to help all understand our oceans and atmosphere so as to be better stewards of our environment for future generations. Credit MUST be given to the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration/Department of Commerce.
UCR/California Museum of Photography, a facility of ARTSblock, provides a cultural presence, educational resource, community center and intellectual meeting ground for the university and the general public. The museum's explorations of photographic media through exhibition, collection, publication, and the web examine the history of photography and showcase current practice in photography and related media.
Established as an independent curatorial department in 1992, the Metropolitan Museum's Department of Photographs houses a collection of more than twenty-five thousand works spanning the history of photography from its invention in the 1830s to the present.
The Museum of Modern Art (MoMA) began collecting modern photography in 1930 and established the department in 1940. The Museum's holdings of more than 25,000 works constitute one of the most important collections of modern and contemporary photography in the world. As diverse as photography itself, the collection includes work not only by artists, but also by journalists, scientists, entrepreneurs, and amateurs.
SFMOMA was one of the first American museums to recognize photography as an art form, and its pioneering commitment continues to deepen as new generations and evolving technologies expand the definition of the medium.
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Library of over 2.5 million digital images and their corresponding metadata. Covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture