It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
With nearly 170,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present day and featuring regular updates, Benezit is one of the most comprehensive and definitive resources on artists in the English language.
Searchable database of 2500 entries. Guide to Western Art from ancient Greece to the present. Includes artists ranging from Polyclitus of Argos to Andy Warhol, with entries on younger contemporary artists.
The most comprehensive art-historical reference available. Covers paint, sculpture, and architecture, as well as photography and the decorative arts. Entries on artists often include a list of works and an extensive bibliography.
Covers over 350 Native American artists. Each citation consists of the following information: tribal affiliation, education, birth and death dates and places, awards, jobs, individual and group exhibitions, collections, publications by and about the artist, and a substantial essay on the artist.
Provides biographies, exhibition information, and bibliographies for both living and deceased, internationally known contemporary artists, excluding artists who died before 1960. Signed articles and many artists' statements.
Biographies and bibliographies for prominent photographers worldwide, still living or who have died after 1975. Includes signed articles, exhibition and collection information, and artists' statements.
This unique and authoritative reference work contains around 2,000 clear and concise entries on all aspects of modern and contemporary art. Its impressive range of terms includes movements, styles, techniques, artists, critics, dealers, schools, and galleries. There are biographical entries for artists worldwide from the beginning of the 20th century through to today's globalized art world, from conservatives and academics to the most controversial of the avant-garde, from household names to a host of lesser known figures.
This book covers the careers of 320 women artists working in California over the course of a century. Their work encompasses a broad range of styles - from the realism of the nineteenth century to the modernism of the twentieth - and of media, including painting, sculpture, drawing, and print-making.
Comprehensive pictorial showcase of the diverse universe of artists working in the Los Angeles area during the formative period of Los Angeles' art history. Over 900 images of work by almost 500 artists illustrate the edited texts quoted from critical reviews of exhibitions and writings of the period. Special efforts have been made to include both recognized and heretofore unsung key players in the Los Angeles art world.