Visual Arts: Getting started with your research

Get started with your research

Benezit Dictionary of Artists
With nearly 170,000 entries on artists from antiquity to the present day and featuring regular updates, Benezit is one of the most comprehensive and definitive resources on artists in the English language.
Oxford Art Online
Provides access to Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History
Provides an overview of the history of art as illustrated and represented in the Metropolitan Museum of Art's collection
Smarthistory
A well-respected online resource for art and art history.

Art and Architecture Source
Citations to journal articles from 1926 to the present.
ARTBibliographies Modern (ABM)
1974-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.
International Bibliography of Art
IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art. Citations encompass fine arts in all media (from painting and sculpture to video and new media), decorative arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques, and architectural history.

Art Discovery Group Catalogue
Getty Research Portal
Free search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions. This multilingual and multicultural union catalog affords art historians and other researchers the ability to search and download complete digital copies of publications devoted to art, architecture, material culture, and related fields.
OpenBibArt
OpenBibArt is a bibliographic database born out of a collaboration between the Institut National d’Histoire de l’Art (INHA), the Getty Research Institute (GRI) and the Institut de l’Information Scientifique et Technique of the CNRS (Inist-CNRS). OpenBibArt reviews the literature on arts from Late Antiquity to the present day, providing access to close to 1.2 million of bibliographic records of periodicals, books, exhibition and auction catalogues, published between 1910 and 2007.