Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online distributor of African news and information, posting over 1,000 stories daily in English and French, and a searchable archive of 900,000 articles (including the Africa News Service back to 1997).
Global Press Archive: East African Newspapers
EAN features newspapers from the 1940s to the early 2000s, with over 475,000 pages total from three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda). More titles will be added over time to expand research into this dynamic region.
Global Press Archive: Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers
Content in the Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. The collection comprises out-of-copyright, orphaned content, and includes titles such as Al-Iqbal (Lebanon), Al Akhaa al Watani (Iraq), Tangier Gazette (Morocco) and La Vérité (Algeria). Our access includes runs of five in-copyright titles: al-Akhbār (الاخبار, Lebanon, 2006-2019); al-Dustūr (الدستور, Jordan, 1967-2000); al-Jumhūrīyah (الجمهورية, Egypt, 1962-1986); al-Riyāḍ (الرياض, Saudi Arabia, 1972-1996); Filasṭīn (فلسطين, Israel/Palestine, 1956-1967).
Contemporary newspapers and news reports from Southeast Asia region, in multiple languages, are available via Factiva, Nexis Uni, and Access World News. Regional news transcripts and translations are held in World News Connection (1994-2013) and Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996)