It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The South Asian Newspapers collection chronicles conflicts as well as contemporary perspectives on independence movements, early statehood, and the extensive economic and social growth taking place in the region during this time. The collection covers several countries, including Afghanistan, Bangladesh (formerly East Pakistan), India, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka, and features multiple languages such as Bengali, Dari, English, Nepali, and more. With reportage dating as far back as the 1850s, the South Asian Newspapers collection provides a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the 19th and 20th centuries.
Comprising over 1,000 titles from Mexico’s pre-independence, independence and revolutionary periods (1807-1929), the newspapers in this collection provide rare documentation of the dramatic events of this era and include coverage of Mexican partisan politics, yellow press, political and social satire, as well as local, regional, national and international news.
The press of more than twenty cities is represented in this collection, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. It provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
The Southeast Asian Newspapers collection chronicles the changes that took place throughout the region during this period, and the challenges of early statehood. Covering several countries from the region, including Myanmar (formerly Burma), Indonesia, Philippines, Thailand, and Vietnam, and featuring multiple languages such as Dutch, English, French, Javanese, Spanish, and Vietnamese, the Southeast Asian Newspapers collection incorporates a wealth of coverage and perspectives on major regional and global events of the late 19th and 20th centuries.
Researchers will find a wealth of unique content from the Middle East and North Africa, much of which has never been digitized or available as open access material. Content in the Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection is predominantly in Arabic, but also includes key titles in English and French. The collection comprises out-of-copyright, orphaned content, and includes titles such as Al-Iqbal (Lebanon), Al Akhaa al Watani (Iraq), Tangier Gazette (Morocco) and La Vérité (Algeria). Our access includes runs of five in-copyright titles: al-Akhbār (الاخبار, Lebanon, 2006-2019); al-Dustūr (الدستور, Jordan, 1967-2000); al-Jumhūrīyah (الجمهورية, Egypt, 1962-1986); al-Riyāḍ (الرياض, Saudi Arabia, 1972-1996); Filasṭīn (فلسطين, Israel/Palestine, 1956-1967).
Current titles in the Middle Eastern & North African Newspapers collection include:
Al Akhaa al Watani (الاخاء الوطني), Iraq, Arabic, 1931-1963
Al Akhbar (الأخبار), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1950
Al Akhbar (الأخبار), Lebanon, Arabic, 1958-1972
Al Balad (البلد), Syria, Arabic, 1950
Al Fayha (الفيحاء), Syria, Arabic, 1950
Al Hawadith (الحوادث), Syria, Arabic, 1950
Al Insha (الانشاء), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1950
Al Islah (الإصلاح), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1959
Al Jabal (الجبل), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1950
Al Tarbiyah (التربية), Syria, Arabic, 1949-1950
Al-Iqbal (الإقبال), Lebanon, Arabic, 1902-1909
Asa Al Jannah (عصا الجنة), Syria, Arabic, 1950
Attakaddoum (التقدم), Algeria, French/Arabic, 1923-1931
Baghdad News, Iraq, English, 1964-1967
Baghdad Times, Iraq, English, 1918-1923
Dou-El-Fakar (ذو الفقار), Algeria, Arabic, 1913-1914
El Farouk (الفاروق), Algeria, Arabic, 1913-1921
El-Mountakid (المنتقد), Algeria, Arabic/French, 1925
La Vérité, Algeria, French/Arabic, 1934-1935
Tangier Gazette: Al-Moghreb Al-Aksa & Morocco, Morocco, English, 1927-1933
Tangier Gazette and Al-Moghreb Al-Aksa, Morocco, English/French, 1949-1950
Tangier Gazette and Morocco Mail, Morocco, English, 1934-1940
Tarik Al Jihad (التربية), Syria, Arabic, 1950
The Iraq Times, Iraq, English/Arabic, 1948-1964
Times of Mesopotamia, Iraq, English, 1921-1924
New titles will continue to be added to the collection, which will ultimately include over thirty newspaper titles and approximately 500,000 pages of content.
The Imperial Russian Newspapers collection comprises 19 out-of-copyright newspapers spanning the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries, up to the 1917 Bolshevik Revolution. With no less than 500,000 pages, the collection’s core titles are from Moscow and St. Petersburg, complemented by regional newspapers across the vast Russian Empire.
The East African Newspapers collection provides insight into this region during a critical time, which witnessed the growth of decolonization as independence movements swelled, and local, autonomous self-governance took hold throughout the region. This period was also punctuated by famine, drought, political uprisings, border disputes, and war as countries worked to navigate the post-colonial landscape.
EAN features newspapers from the 1940s to the early 2000s, with over 475,000 pages total from three titles: Daily Nation (Kenya), The Ethiopian Herald, and The Monitor (Uganda). More titles will be added over time to expand research into this dynamic region.
Newspaper Navigator is a project being carried out by the Innovator in Residence Program at the Library of Congress. The goals of Newspaper Navigator are 1) to extract visual content from 16+ million pages of digitized historic American newspapers in Chronicling America and 2) re-imagine how you, members of the American public, can search the visual content using machine learning techniques. The first phase (extracting the visual content) was completed in April, 2020, and resulted in the full Newspaper Navigator dataset. The second phase of Newspaper Navigator consists of the application that you are currently using. All Newspaper Navigator photos in the app and dataset are in the public domain.
Q: What can I do with this Newspaper Navigator application?
A: This application enables you to search and explore historic newspaper photographs. You can search by keyword over the photos' captions (extracted from the OCR of each newspaper page), as well as search by visual similarity. The visual similarity search capability retrieves relevant photos by empowering you to train a machine learning algorithm by selecting photos that you are interested in. The application contains 1.56 million photos from the Newspaper Navigator dataset, consisting of all extracted photos in the dataset published between 1900 and 1963 with confidence scores above 90%. Advertisements are considered a separate category in the Newspaper Navigator dataset, but you may still find some advertisements using this application (the visual content recognition model was not 100% perfect at classifying visual content type, and there are also lots of advertisements that include photographs!.
Civil War Era Newspaper Collection / Atlanta Daily World (1931 - 2003) / The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857 - 1922) / The American Israelite (1854 - 2000) / The Arizona Republican (1890 - 2007) / The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984) / The Austin American Statesman (1871 - 1978) / The Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1992) / The Boston Globe (1872-1986) / Calgary Herald (1883-2010) / Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832 - 1953) / The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004) / The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 - 2009) / Cleveland Call & Post (1934 - 1991) / Communist Historical Newspaper Collection (1917 - 2013) / Dayton Daily News (1898 - 1922) / Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999) / Edmonton Journal (1903-2010) / The Globe and Mail (1844 - 2014) / The Guardian and The Observer (1791 - 2003) / Hartford Courant (1764 - 1992) / Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004) / The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859 - 2016) / The Jerusalem Post (1932 - 2008) / The Jewish Advocate (1905 - 1990) / The Jewish Exponent (1887 - 1990) / The Korea Times (1956 - 2016) / Leader-Post (Regina) (1883-2010) / Los Angeles Sentinel (1934 - 2005) / Louisville Courier Journal / Montreal Gazette (1857 - 2010 / Minneapolis Star Tribune (1867 - 2001) / The Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2002) / Newsday (1940 - 1989) / New York Amsterdam News (1922 - 1993) / New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841 - 1962) / Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916 - 2003) / Ottawa Citizen (1846-2010) / The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860 - 2001) / Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2001) / Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2002) / Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786 - 2003) / The Province (Vancouver) (1898-2010) / Saskatoon Star Phoenix (1902-2009) / The Scotsman (1817 - 1950) / South China Morning Post / St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874 - 2003) / Times Colonist (Victoria) (1884-2010) / The Times of India / Toronto Star (1894 - 2015) / Vancouver Sun (1912-2010) / Windsor Star (1893 - 2010)
New tab added to the Newspapers guide for the San Diego community and people at UCSD. The 2 major SD public libraries have a license for New York Times plus other newspaper databases. All accessible with an easy-to-sign up public library card.
Historical Newspapers - items with locks may only be used at UCSD or with VPN
The largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media from the British Library; more than 1000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from England, Ireland, Scotland and a few from British colonies in the Americas & Asia.
Full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
Full text of 6 newspapers: Freedom's Journal (1827-30); Colored American (1837-1841); North Star (1847-51); National Era (1847-50); Provincial Freeman (1854-55); Frederick Douglass Paper (1851-52). Some years incomplete.
English-language papers 1690-1876, 700 papers from cities in 24 states east of the Mississippi. Also includes Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, and Calif Historical Newspapers, 1752-1922. Coverage of each paper from a few issues to many years.
150,000 pages of California newspapers spanning 1849-1911. They include the Alta California (1849-1889); the San Francisco Call (1900-1910); the Amador Ledger (1900-1911); the Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911); and the Los Angeles Herald (1905-1907).
Digital archive of 23 California newspapers (10 of them forthcoming), 1850-1900. One newspaper until 1922. Some include brief runs of 1-3 years, others cover much longer spans. (part of America's Historical Newspapers database)
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Collection of local, regional, and national newspapers published by Ku Klux Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers. Also includes anti-Klan voices from newspapers published by ethnic, Catholic and Jewish organizations.
Provides a list of historical African American Newspapers available online as part of digitization projects at libraries and historical societies as well as digitization projects done by Google. Browse by title, time period, or geographic area.
Includes 10 papers from Europe, North Africa, Palestine/Israel, in English, French and Hebrew; 3 as early as 1860s; 6 through 1930s/40s. Palestine Post, Bulletin de l'Alliance Israelite Universelle, Ha-Levanon, L'Avenir Illustre, Ha-Magid, Paix & Droit, etc.
1931-present. More than 75 years of international news reports, with summaries of political, economic and social events. Search by subject or browse by country. UCSD users ignore logon prompt. May be down for regular maintenance 8-9pm California time
Searchable collection of historical Latin American newspapers. When finished will include 35 newspapers from the 19th and early 20th century in Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela. Part of the World Newspaper Archive.
See Times Digital Archive and Palmer's Full Text Online.
Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers’ newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Today, Pravda represents the oppositional stance of the Communist Party in the Russian Federation.
Cover-to-cover article and page images of Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1910-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993). Click top "Publications" tab for title list.
Cover to cover article text & page images of Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2005), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Washington Post (1877-1992), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991). Click top "Publications" tab for title list.
Partisan newspaper editorials on the Nebraska bill debates; Dred Scott; John Brown's Raid on Harper's Ferry; and the attack on Massachusetts Senator Charles Sumner by South Carolina representative Preston Brooks.
U.S. Major Dailies provides access to current content and significant archives dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s most respected national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal, in full-text format.
1877-1994. Search and browse full text and display images of articles and complete newspaper.
Early American Newspaper Series, 1740-1820
This is a collection of newspapers issued in the United States Between 1704 and 1820. Almost 700 separate newspapers listed in the catalog, some with links to the America's Historical Newspapers database.