Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Full Text Articles
The full text of an article within a database is provided in multiple formats. Look for:
- An HTML link
- PDF link
- Link to Get it at UC
The Get it at UC link will provide you options for how to access the full text of the article. If there are no online links available, this means you need to request the item through Interlibrary Loan if a print version is not available at UC San Diego. The Library will deliver the full text of an article to you free of charge. When requesting you will need your Library ID number.
Your library card/account number begins with "21822" and can be found on the back of your UCSD ID card or within the UCSD app. Enter the 14-digit number without spaces.
Databases for Finding Journal Articles
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
The GeoRef database contains over 3 million references from around 3,500 journals, technical reports, books, and theses. Use GeoRef to find journal articles in geology, seismology, marine geology, geophysics, paleontology, petrology and geological maps, going as far back as 1669 for some topics. Use the UC-eLinks button in your search results list to find the full text of the articles.
Consult the ProQuest online guide for help searching this database, features for refining your search, saving results as alerts or RSS feeds, and emailing or downloading your search & results: https://proquest.libguides.com/georef
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database This link opens in a new window
The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database includes the renowned Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), Oceanic Abstracts, and the Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA) for climate sciences. It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized references and resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments. Coverage is from 1950 - present.
Consult the ProQuest online guide for help searching this database, features for refining your search, saving results as alerts or RSS feeds, and emailing or downloading your search & results: https://proquest.libguides.com/earthatmosphericandaquaticsciencecollection
Inspec This link opens in a new window
Inspec indexes and abstracts over 4200 journals & over 2000 conference proceedings as well as books and technical reports in physics, electronics, & computing including geophysics, physical oceanography, instrumentation, ocean acoustics, computers, electronics, climatology, etc. back to 1898.
MarinLit is a database dedicated to marine natural products research, it was established in the 1970s and has evolved to contain unique searchable features and powerful dereplication tools. You can search by bibliographic information, taxonomy, location, chemical structure and physical property data. Provides comprehensive coverage of marine natural products in journal articles, including new and revised compounds, synthesis, ecology and biological activities. It is also text and structure searchable.
SciFindern (SciFinder-n) This link opens in a new window
SciFinder is produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS). It is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, indexing journal articles, patent records, and other document types, as well as chemical substances and reactions. SciFinder has more than 37 million references, with abstracts, to journal articles and patents, conference proceedings, technical reports, books, dissertations and meeting abstracts. The substances and reactions are indexed with links to the corresponding CAS Registry and CASREACT records. It currently indexes over 10,000 journals, and patents from 63 patent authorities. Coverage is 1907 to present, with some pre-1907 content. Username/password required (information on creating your account
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Good for "overall" coverage of science topics. WOS covers over 12,000 journals from 1900 to present. Use the GeoRef database, above, for more in-depth and stronger coverage of geoscience topics. Article references in WOS include "Times Cited" information and links.
The UC San Diego Library's "Databases A-Z" listing is a comprehensive list of journal article (abstracting and indexing) databases, in all fields, available for your use.
Questions? Contact me
Subjects: Biological Sciences
, Climate & Atmospheric Sciences
, Climate, Earth, Marine, & Oceanography (SIO)
, Geology & Geosciences
, Marine Sciences
, Oceanography, Biological
, Oceanography, Physical