Business: Data Sources

Use this guide as a first stop to finding and using the business and management related resources of the UC San Diego Library.

Statistical Data Sources

For datasets with company financials or that produce company lists, see the Companies tab of this guide.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
1973-present. Huge database of citations to statistical publications from U.S. federal and state governments, international agencies, nonprofit and educational institutions, and private publishers including trade and industry groups. Full text of the publication or report is often included, and many tables are downloadable in Excel. Particularly good for demographic and country-level information. Previous name Statistical Universe.
As of 2020, subscription includes:
Statistical Insight Tables
Statistical Insight Statistical Reference Index Full Text
Statistical Insight American Statistics Index Abstracts and Indexing ONLY (no current full text)
ProQuest Statistical Insight IIS Abstracts and Indexing Web Service (no current full text)
ProQuest Statistical Insight SRI Abstracts and Indexing Web Service
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
Passport GMID is a product from Euromonitor International that provides reports and statistics on international consumers and markets, including details about consumer market segmentation, industry forecasts, consumer spending and attitudes, and macroeconomic and business trends. It's also a great source to download demographic information to show timeline trends. Coverage is global (200+ countries).
Global Financial Database
Financial and economic data covering over 150 countries and over 6,500 historical and current data series. Bonds, T-bills, unemployment, GDP, commodity prices, exchange rates, and more, some dating back to 1900. Note: To access, use the “Login Anonymously” option and choose GFDatabase in the left nav bar.
Key Business Ratios
This online version of Dun & Bradstreet's Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios includes current benchmarking data for U.S. public and private businesses using parameters of solvency, profitability and efficiency for 800 lines of business. Features include importing and exporting of data. For historical ratios (older than current five years), use the Mergent Archives.
SimplyAnalytics
An easy to use mapping, analytics, and data visualization app with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census, and the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), 2020 Election Data, and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory providing access to over 5 million US business profiles. The included MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset contains data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories, the MOSAIC segmentation system, and detailed lifestyle information. Community Lifestages presents data based on Householder Age, Income and Household Family Status. Users also have access to the CDC PLACES health dataset which includes 27 diverse health measures, such as Health Outcomes, Prevention, Risk Behaviors, and Health Status. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. Data is downloadable in GIS-ready shapefiles. Users may log in as a Guest, or create an account to save their work. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. (formerly known as SimplyMap).
IBISWorld Industry Intelligence
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
This resource was published annually from 1878-2012, and compiles tables and other numeric information on population, government, business, health, education, and much more, that is compiled by U.S. government agencies. The PQ Statistical Insight (link above) also includes this content in its searches, but some people prefer to use this product on its own.
County Business Patterns/ZIP Code Business Patterns
County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry, including the number of establishments and employment.

BMI Country Risk Global & All Industry Global
BMI provides proprietary data, analyst reports, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Login path: choose SSO > Organization ID = UCSD. BMI includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts.
Sports Market Analytics (formerly SBRnet)
Sports Market Analytics provides "one-stop" access to market research, consumer demographics, and industry news related to a broad range of sporting activities, events and facilities. Coverage includes US and international sport, along the dimensions of professional and college sports, leagues, events, athletes, fans, sponsorship, branding and merchandise (apparel, footwear, equipment), broadcast and social media, mobile sports, attendance and trends. There are some directories with links to sports management education programs and employment resources.
Statista
Easy-to-search database of frequently sought statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources. Data is usually displayed as a graph and downloadable in Excel. Although the UC Libraries recently canceled our subscription access, Basic-level data is still available with free registration.

Other UCSD Library Guides to Statistical Sources & Datasets

Not finding what you need using the resources of the box on the right? Try one of these.

Data & Statistics Libguide
This one is the go-to guide for an overview of all statistical data we have. There is a section dedicated to business/economics.
U.S. Government Information Libguide
U.S. Census Research
OECD iLibrary Guide
This source covers many topics.

ESG Data Sources

Our ESG data comes hosted on two platforms:LSEG Refinitiv Workspace and Mergent Market Atlas. The data are from the same source. Mergent has easy-to-access, overall reporting. It's great for tracking overall company and peer performance. LSEG Refinitiv gets more granular on specific factors that make up the ESG pillars. Not everyone will need that level of granularity.

Mergent Market Atlas
**This resource will replace Mergent Online in June 2025. It provides access to company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. It is especially useful for company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views and reports.
LSEG Refinitiv Workspace
Although Workspace primarily provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis, it also features unique content about companies’ ESG performance, sustainable leadership monitoring (SLM), and peer analysis. First-time users register here, https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html (ESG data is in the basic license, called “Workspace for Students”).
Workspace is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.

Selected Books

Analytics and Dynamic Customer Strategy by John F. Tanner
Call Number: Wiley ebook
ISBN: 9781118905739
Publication Date: 2014
This complete guide provides a process for rigorous decision making in navigating the data-driven industry shift, informing marketing practice, and aiding businesses in early adoption. Using data from a five-year study to illustrate important concepts and scenarios along the way, the author speaks directly to marketing and operations professionals who may not necessarily be big data savvy.
A Concise Guide to Market Research by Marko Sarstedt; Erik Mooi
Call Number: Springer ebook
ISBN: 9783642539640
Publication Date: 2014
This accessible, practice-oriented and compact text provides a hands-on introduction to market research.
Basic Marketing Research: using Microsoft Excel data analysis by Alvin C. Burns; Ronald F. Bush
Call Number: Geisel 6th fl HF5415.2 B7787
ISBN: 9780135078228
Publication Date: 2011
Basic Data Analysis for Time Series with R by DeWayne R. Derryberry
Call Number: O'Reilly & Wiley e-books
ISBN: 1118593375
Publication Date: 2014
Presents modern methods to analyzing data with multiple applications in a variety of scientific fields. Written at a readily accessible level, Basic Data Analysis for Time Series with R emphasizes the mathematical importance of collaborative analysis of data used to collect increments of time or space. Features real-world examples to provide readers with practical hands-on experience.