Last Updated: Apr 20, 2014
Please feel free to email me if you get stuck, have additional research questions, would like to set up an appointment, or have other sources to include in the guide.
- Data Citation Index [UCSD Only]
Indexes research data, including data studies and data sets, and links them to the scientific literature to track data citation. Part of Web of Science.
- IQSS Dataverse
Access the world's largest collection of social science research datasets by searching across or browsing through one of the virtual data archives (called "dataverses") listed below. Data is uploaded by researchers from around the world.
- ICPSR Data Archive [UCSD Only]
The Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research. World's largest archive of social science datasets. Election data, opinion polls, more. Special collections on Health, Education, Aging, Crime, Substance Abuse. Raw data; no tables.
- Data Planet [UCSD Only]
Provides easy access to statistical data. Sources include: Bombay Stock Exchange, British Bankers' Association, Chicago Board Options, Exchange, China Data Center, D&B (Dun & Bradstreet), Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections, Defense Manpower Data Center, Deutsche Börse Group, Dow Jones, Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI), Eurostat, FTSE Group, HSI Services Limited (Hong Kong), International Monetary Fund, London Bullion Market Association , London Platinum & Palladium Market, NASDAQ OMX Group, National Bureau of Economic Research, Nikkei, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Shanghai Stock Exchange, Standard & Poor's, World Bank, World Resource Institute, Xignite, and many US Federal agencies.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight [UCSD Only]
Provides access to statistics produced by federal agencies, states, intergovernmental organizations, and private enterprise with its advanced Search Tables functionality.
- Statista [UCSD Only]
Access the most relevant and important statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States [UCSD Only]
Authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States. This database replaces the previously-free Census Bureau publication (which are available online
). It uses many of the same, along with additional, data sources as the earlier editions.
- The MacroDataGuide
The MacroDataGuide is a tool that has been especially developed by the Norwegian Social Science Data Services to save researchers and students time and energy in their search for high quality social science macro data. While the main distinction is most often drawn between micro and macro data, the term 'meso data' is also sometimes used. Meso data generally refers to data on collective and cooperative actors such as commercial companies, organizations or political parties.
"Your source for data & statistics - graphs, charts and tables." Like Google for numeric data.
Infochimps is a place for people to find, share and sell formatted data. Both users and Infochimps employees scrape, parse and format data so that it's easily accessible to you. We take the chimp work out of working with data so you can literally start building cool stuff in minutes.
- Odum Institute Dataverse Network - data catalog
Data catalog for the Odum Institute, which maintains one of the oldest and largest catalog of machine-readable data in the U.S., plus harvest data catalogs for the Dataweb, NARA, IQSS, Roper, and ICPSR.
Registry of research data repositories
- DataFinder from the Population Reference Bureau
A database with hundreds of variables for the US and the world.
- UC San Diego Dataverse
Miscellaneous datasets housed at UC San Diego
- SSDS Home Page
- UCSD SSDS Dataverse
Datasets purchased and/or housed at the UC San Diego Library. Includes ITERATE, International Country Risk Guide (ICRG), California Tobacco Survey, Women's Healthy Eating & Living....