Marine Biodiversity & Conservation - MAS Program: Journal Article Databases

Library guide to resources in marine biodiversity and conservation

Databases for Finding Journal Articles

The following are some of the key databases for Marine Biodiversity and Conservation.

Depending on your research topics, others may also be useful.

You can explore other subject guides or our Databases A-Z to find potential databases, or reach out to the library for help.

Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
The ASFA database is a premier source for aquatic resources, covering over 7,000 journals, books, reports, & conference proceedings mainly from 1971 - to present, with some coverage back to the 1800s. This database is ideal for research in the areas of aquaculture, aquatic organisms, aquatic pollution, conservation, fisheries, marine biotechnology, oceanography, policy & legislation, and wildlife management.
Consult the ProQuest online guide for help searching this database, features for refining your search, saving results as alerts or RSS feeds, and emailing or downloading your search & results: https://proquest.libguides.com/asfa
BIOSIS Citation Index
BIOSIS coverage is from 1926 to present and includes around 6,000 journals, conference proceedings, books, & technical reports in all aspects of biological sciences. The BIOSIS Citation Index database is an excellent database for all biological information, including marine biology, biological oceanography, marine ecology, developmental biology, and molecular biology. The platform also includes a version called BIOSIS Previews which lacks some cited-reference search abilities.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database
Combined search for 1) Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA), 2) Oceanic Abstracts, and 3) Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts (MGA). It provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. The database includes specialized references and resources studying the critical issues affecting Earth’s air, land, and water environments. Coverage is from 1950 - present.
GeoRef
The GeoRef database, established by the American GeoSciences Institute, provides access to the geoscience literature of the world. GeoRef contains over 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. It covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey, and master's theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities.
GeoRef subject coverage includes: marine geology and oceanography, economic geology, engineering geology, environmental geology, extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology.
Google Scholar
Search for scholarly publications across disciplines & sources: articles, theses/dissertations, books, and more, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities etc. Use Scholar Settings-->Library Links option to setup "University of California, San Diego - Get it at UC" and if you are searching from off campus, log in to the VPN to get full access to UC San Diego subscribed article content.
Web of Science
Covers all topics. over 12,000 journals from 1900 to present. Use the ASFA or BIOSIS databases, above, for more in-depth and stronger coverage of marine science topics. WoS's special skill is in analyzing your results - great for finding collaborators, good journals to publish in, etc.
Zoological Record
The Zoological Record database has extensive coverage of zoology from 1864-present. Indexes over 4,500 journals, books, conference papers, & selected dissertations in zoology, and includes a very good subject vocabulary and helpful taxonomic hierarchies.

Compendex + Inspec Combined Search
Two large engineering databases, Compendex and Inspec, can be searched together. Provides coverage of marine engineering topics that may be hard to find elsewhere.
EconLit
- This link opens in a new window
Produced by the American Economic Association, with coverage from 1969-present, this database provides journal article references & abstracts, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. Search for topics such as "Bioeconomic models", and also to get economic perspective on general topics in biodiversity and conservation.
more...less...
For more information, see the Economics Resources guide at: https://ucsd.libguides.com/econguide

Nexis Uni
The new successor to LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches, and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

PAIS International
The PAIS International database contains continually updated records for over half a million journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more, on public affairs and policy from 1972+. Coverage includes conservation, energy resources, marine policy, coastal zone development, etc. and newly available the PAIS Archive, a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, published 1915-1976.

PubMed
Covers 5700 journals in biomedical and health fields. Can be useful for issues relating to marine pathogens, drugs-from-the-sea, etc.
Westlaw Campus Research
Full text access to federal and state court cases, laws and regulations; law reviews, legal periodicals, and encyclopedias; European Union legal documents; and legal guides. Also includes some news sources.

Databases A-Z
The UC San Diego Library's "Databases A-Z" listing is a comprehensive list of journal article (abstracting and indexing) databases, in all fields, available for your use.

Policy Commons (Global Think Tanks + North American City Reports)
This database covers policy reports, briefs, analyses etc from many different policy organizations, think tanks, NGOs and hundreds of urban agencies.
Register with your UCSD email and pick your own password (not SSO)
Faculty, staff, and students may also register direct Global Think Tanks personal accounts with UCSD domain email address for full remote access rights.

Just Want To Read? Try BrowZine

BrowZine is a journal browsing service for computers or tablets that uses a bookshelf style display for journals you can browse online via our subscriptions. You can set up your own custom bookshelf and even get alerts. You do need to be connected to the VPN or campus network.

All subjects
Full Guide on BrowZine including links to get tablet apps

UC eScholarship for Articles, Capstone Papers & More

UC eScholarship for CMBC
eScholarship is the University of California's Repository. Use this link to upload your MAS MBC Capstone Projects for preservation, Open Access, and to have a perpetual URL for your publications.