Skip to Main Content
The Library

Attack on the U.S. Capitol / Impeachment: Congress

About

This section includes House and Senate leaders, committee chairs and ranking members, and select additional Senators and Representatives. It also includes the Architect of the Capitol (AOC), Congressional Research Service (CRS), and the U.S. Capitol Police (USCP).

Our Congressional Twitter Accounts guide can help you find related statements issued on Twitter.

The Congressional Record for January 6, 2021 and January 6, 2022 may also be of interest.

The House Select Committee to Investigate the January 6th Attack on the United States Capitol website/social media accounts went live on 7/26 or 7/27. Their Twitter account handle was @January6thCmte. These resources became inactive with the beginning of the 118th Congress; the Committee's archived website is available at https://january6th-benniethompson.house.gov/.

NEW: please note that with the start of the 118th Congress in January 2023, many of the links on this guide (especially those in the House of Representatives, including the now-terminated House Select Committee) are no longer active. As possible, though, all links were captured in the Internet Archive so you should be able to find archived copies there using the URLs on this guide.

Congress

Blunt Statement on Congressional Certification of Electoral College Results
Brown Statement on Domestic Terrorism at U.S. Capitol Yesterday
Cantwell Statement on Electoral College Certification, Attack on the U.S. Capitol
Cantwell Statement on Efforts to Remove President Trump from Office
Carper, Van Hollen, Norton, Maloney Say D.C. Mayor Must Be Given Control Over D.C. National Guard and President Must Be Stripped of Authority Over D.C. Police Department
Carper Forcefully Condemns Baseless Objections to Electoral College Certification on Senate Floor (video)
Carper Statement on Unprecedented Assault by Violent Mob at the U.S. Capitol
Cole Condemns Lawless Protests at U.S. Capitol
Cotton Statement on Violence at Capitol
Crapo Statement on January 6 Joint Session of Congress
DeFazio: Statement from Rep. Peter DeFazio on the Urgent Need to Remove Donald Trump from Office
DeFazio: Statement from Rep. DeFazio on Attempted Coup at U.S. Capitol
Feinstein to Trump: Stop Inciting Supporters to Commit Violence
Grassley Statement on Electoral College Certification
Grassley: America Must Be Better Than This
Grijalva Statement on Domestic Terrorists Storming the U.S. Capitol
Hayes Statement on U.S. Capitol Security Breach
Hoyer Urges Members to Honor Oaths to Defend and Preserve the Constitution and Our Democracy
Hoyer Statement on the Joint Session of Congress Reconvening for the Electoral College Certification
Hoyer Statement on the Joint Session of Congress Certifying the Electoral Votes
Hoyer Statement on the Death of Capitol Police Officer Brian Sicknick
Hoyer Calls for Removal of President Trump from Office
Inhofe Statement on Electoral College Count Tomorrow
Johnson: Statement from U.S. Senator Ron Johnson on Electoral College Proceedings
Johnson Discusses Election Integrity, Electoral Commission on Fox News
Johnson: Election Irregularities Demand Investigation
Johnson Discusses Electoral Commission on Fox News
Klobuchar: Statement From Senator Amy Klobuchar
Leahy: Comment Of Senator Patrick Leahy On The Riot At The U.S. Capitol
Leahy: Statement On The Capitol Riots And Republicans’ Attempt To Overturn The Election
Leahy: The Chilling Assault On Our Constitutional Republic
Leahy: Statement On The Law Enforcement Response To Wednesday's Tragic Events
McCarthy: Mobs Don’t Rule America, Laws Rule America
McCarthy: The People’s House
McCarthy: A Statement from House Republican Leader Kevin McCarthy
McCarthy Statement on U.S. Capitol Police Officer Brian D. Sicknick
McCarthy: My statement on Democrats asking companies to violate federal law (re: Select Committee's request for companies to preserve phone records)
McConnell Statement on United States Capitol Security
McConnell Mourns Death of USCP Officer Brian Sicknick
McHenry Statement On Yesterday's Violence At the U.S. Capitol
Maloney Statement Following Electoral College Certification
Maloney Calls for Trump to be Removed from Office
Manchin Statement On Certification Of 2020 Presidential Election Results
Manchin Statement On United States Capitol Insurrection
Manchin Statement On Potential Action Against President Trump
Menendez Calls for Investigation into White Supremacy & Extremism in the Military
Moran Condemns Violence & Destruction at U.S. Capitol
Murkowski Speaks About Attack on the U.S. Capitol
Murray Calls for Removal of President Trump from Office Under 25th Amendment
Pelosi: Dear Colleague to All Members on Continuation of the Joint Session of Congress
Pelosi Remarks Upon Reconvening of the House of Representatives
Pelosi, Schumer Joint Statement on Call to Vice President Pence on Invoking 25th Amendment
Pelosi: Dear Colleague on Events of the Past Week
Pelosi Statement on Death of Capitol Police Officer Brian Sicknick
Pelosi: Transcript of Pelosi Weekly Press Conference Today
Pelosi, Schumer Joint Statement on Call to Vice President Pence on Invoking 25th Amendment
Pelosi: Transcript of Pelosi Weekly Press Conference Today (announcing the House will establish a Select Committee on the January 6th Insurrection)
Pelosi: Transcript of Pelosi Weekly Press Conference Today (announcing members of select committee)
Peters Statement on Siege at Capitol, Congress Certifying the Electoral College Votes
Portman Statement on the Attack on the U.S. Capitol
Reed: Congress Affirms Biden’s Victory & Reed Condemns Trump for Inciting Anti-Democratic Mob Violence
Risch on U.S. Capitol Riots and Vote to Certify the Results of the 2020 Presidential Election
Rubio Delivers Floor Speech on Certification of the Electoral College Votes
Rush Statement on Armed Insurrection at U.S. Capitol
Scalise Condemns Violence at Capitol
Scalise Unequivocally Condemns Violence at U.S. Capitol, Outlines Path Forward
Schumer Statement Calling for the President to Be Immediately Removed from Office
Schumer: Transcript: Leader Schumer Calls On Vice President Pence To Invoke The 25th Amendment To IMMEDIATELY Remove President Trump
Scott (B.) Statement on Insurrection at United States Capitol
Scott (B.) Calls for Removal of President Trump from Office
Stabenow on Congress Certifying the Electoral College Votes, Affirming Joe Biden as the Next President and Kamala Harris as the Next Vice President
Takano: “Our democracy will prevail.”
Velázquez on Today’s Attacks of Domestic Terror at U.S. Capitol
Warner: On Senate Floor, Warner Urges Colleagues to Reject Attempts to Overturn Election
Warner: Statement of U.S. Sen. Mark R. Warner on Facebook Ban of President Trump
Waters Urges Lawmakers, D.C. Residents, to Remain Safe as Right-Wing Extremists Prepare to Protest Election Results
Waters Slams Republican Attempts to Subvert American Democracy, says Joe Biden will be President and Kamala Harris will be Vice President on January 20
Womack Statement on Today’s Violence at the Capitol
Wyden Statement on Capitol Lockdown
Wyden Statement on Senators Cruz and Hawley
House Committees
 
5/18 - Administration Republicans: Video: Reforming the Capitol Police Board
10/7 - Select January 6th: Thompson Statement on Senate Judiciary Committee Report (see related release from Judiciary Committee)
10/18 - Select January 6th: Thompson & Cheney Statement on the Former President’s Lawsuit (see also, Trump's lawsuit; 11/9/21 court ruling denying Trump's request; and Trump's 11/9/21 notice of appeal)
10/21 - Select January 6th: Thompson & Cheney Remarks on Resolution Citing Steve Bannon for Contempt of Congress (see also, House resolution recommending contempt and video of House debate)
11/5 - Select January 6th: Thompson Statement on Jeffrey Clark
11/30 - Select January 6th: Thompson Statement on Mark Meadows
 

2022

3/9 - Select January 6th: Statement on RNC Lawsuit (see also, RNC complaint)
5/1 - Select January 6th: Select Committee Requests Information From Additional Members of Congress [Reps. Andy Biggs, Mo Brooks, Ronny Jackson]
5/12 - Select January 6th: Select Committee Subpoenas Five Members of Congress [Reps. Kevin McCarthy, Scott Perry, Jim Jordan, Andy Biggs, Mo Brooks]
5/19 - Select January 6th: Select Committee Seeks Information from Representative Loudermilk (see also, Rep. Loudermilk's 5/12/21 press release)
6/29 - Select January 6th: Select Committee Subpoenas Pat Cipollone
10/21 - Select January 6th: Select Committee Subpoenas Donald Trump
12/19 - Select January 6th: Business Meeting
12/19 - Select January 6th: Introductory Material to the Final Report of the Select Committee (executive summary)
12/21 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (34 records)
12/22 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (Cassidy Hutchinson)
12/22 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (5 records)
12/23 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (46 records)
12/27 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (16 records)
12/29 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (19 records)
12/30 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (21 records)
12/30 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (20 records)
12/31 - Select January 6th: Final report website, with interactive timeline and video exhibits, released (see also, Final Report and Supporting Materials Collection via GovInfo, with documents on file with the committee/transcribed interviews & depositions/video exhibits; searchable collection of committee materials is available via Internet Archive - use "search this collection" box and select "text contents")
 
2023
1/2 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (14 records and link to witness materials)
1/3 (?) - Select January 6th: Bennie Thompson, committee chair, published an archival copy of the committee website
----Republication House----
11/17 - Administration: Subcommittee on Oversight releases USCP Video Public Access Policy (with link to "reading room" with released videos; see also, ranking member statement)
 
2024
3/12 - Administration: Three Years Later: Assessing the Law Enforcement Response to Multiple Pipe Bombs on January 6, 2021 (minority site; not posted on majority site)
 
2025
 
 

Senate Committees

1/15 - Intelligence: Senate Intel Leaders Request DNI Provide Information on Intelligence Community Efforts for Biden’s Inauguration
 
2022
12/19 - Select January 6th: Introductory Material to the Final Report of the Select Committee (executive summary)
12/21 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (34 records)
12/22 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (Cassidy Hutchinson)
12/22 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (5 records)
12/23 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (46 records)
12/27 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (16 records)
12/29 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (19 records)
12/30 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (21 records)
12/30 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (20 records)
12/31 - Select January 6th: Final report website, with interactive timeline and video exhibits, released (see also, Final Report and Supporting Materials Collection via GovInfo, with documents on file with the committee/transcribed interviews & depositions/video exhibits; searchable collection of committee materials is available via Internet Archive - use "search this collection" box and select "text contents")
 
2023
1/2 - Select January 6th: Release of Select Committee Materials (14 records and link to witness materials)
1/3 (?) - Select January 6th: Bennie Thompson, committee chair, published an archival copy of the committee website
House Hearings
4/21 - Administration: Oversight of the United States Capitol Police and Preparations for and Response to the Attack of January 6th (with USCP IG Summary & Recommendations, Report 1 & Report 2; see also, opening statements from Lofgren and Davis)
3/24 - Armed Services: "Extremism in the Armed Forces"
2022
6/9 - Select January 6th: On the January 6th investigation (see also, transcript via NPR)
6/13 - Select January 6th: On the January 6th investigation (see also, transcript via NPR)
6/16 - Select January 6th: On the January 6th investigation (see also, transcript via NPR)
6/21 - Select January 6th: On the January 6th investigation (see also, transcript via NPR)
6/23 - Select January 6th: On the January 6th investigation (see also, transcript via NPR)
6/28 - Select January 6th: On the January 6th investigation (see also, transcript via NPR)
7/12 - Select January 6th: On the January 6th investigation (see also, transcript via NPR)
10/13 - Select January 6th: On the January 6th investigation (see also, transcript via NPR)
2023 (Republican House)
5/16 - Administration: Looking Ahead Series: Oversight of the United States Capitol Police (see also, USCP Chief Manger testimony)
 
Senate Hearings
2/23 - Rules and Homeland Security: Examining the January 6 Attack on the U.S. Capitol
2022
 
1/22 - Capitol Unrest, Legislative Response, and the Bill of Attainder Clause
1/22 - Law Enforcement's Response to the January 6th Events at the Capitol
1/27 - Federal Building and Facility Security: Frequently Asked Questions
1/27 - The Impeachment Process in the Senate
1/29 - The Insurrection Bar to Office: Section 3 of the Fourteenth Amendment
2/1 - Lying in State or Honor in the U.S. Capitol by Non-Members of Congress
2/1 - Resolutions to Censure the President: Procedure and History
2/5 - Unrest at the Capitol: Potential Violations of the Uniform Code of Military Justice
2/5 - The Twenty-Fifth Amendment: Sections 3 and 4 - Presidential Disability
2/16 - Veteran Involvement in the U.S. Capitol Breach: Possible Effects on VA Benefits
2/23 - National Guard Civil Support in the District of Columbia
2/24 - U.S. Capitol Attack and Law Enforcement Use of Facial Recognition Technology
2/26 - Legislative Branch: FY2021 Appropriations
5/17 - H.R. 3233, the National Commission to Investigate the January 6 Attack on the United States Capitol Complex Act
5/20 - Senate Sergeant at Arms and Doorkeeper: A Primer
5/20 - House Sergeant at Arms: A Primer
5/26 - H.R. 3233, the National Commission to Investigate the January 6 Attack on the United States Capitol Complex Act
7/29 - The U.S. Capitol Police: Brief Background
9/20 - Executive Privilege and the January 6 Investigations: The Presidential Records Act and Relevant Judicial Considerations
9/20 - Executive Privilege and Former Presidents: Constitutional Principles and Current Application
10/14 - Legislative Branch: FY2022 Appropriations
10/19 - FY2022 Military Personnel Issues: Extremism in the Military
10/21 - Resolving Subpoena Disputes in the January 6th Investigation
11/12 - A Survey of House and Senate Committee Rules on Subpoenas
11/19 - The Bannon Indictment and Prosecution
 
2022
1/5 - FY2022 NDAA: Extremism in the Military
1/11 - Law Enforcement and Technology: Using Social Media
6/1 - The Insurrection Bar to Holding Office: Appeals Court Issues Decision on Section 3 of the Fourteenth Amendment
8/5 - Beyond January 6th: White House Confidentiality and Congressional Investigations
8/5 - The Insurrection Bar to Office: Section 3 of the Fourteenth Amendment (updated)
9/1 - Law Enforcement Investigations of Extremist Calls to Action on Social Media
9/7 - The Insurrection Bar to Office: Section 3 of the Fourteenth Amendment (updated)
9/8 - Electronic Records Management and U.S. Secret Service
11/17 - Litigating the January 6 Committee's Subpoena to Former President Trump
 
2024
3/20 - Fischer v. United States: Supreme Court to Consider Federal Obstruction Provision in Capitol Breach Prosecution
7/10 - Fischer v. United States: Supreme Court Reads Federal Obstruction Provision Narrowly in Capitol Breach Prosecution
1/10 - Off-duty Death of USCP Officer Howard Liebengood (media reports the officer responded to the riots and died of apparent suicide)
2/10 - Statement from U.S. Capitol Police [re: vote of no confidence]
 
2022
 
2023
 
2024

1/13 - Planned Violence Ahead of Inauguration (AOC)

1/15 - U.S. Capitol Clean-up (AOC)

2/3 - Hill staff open letter to Senators on impeachment (via CNN)

2/24 - Health and Wellness of Employees and State of Damage and Preservation as a Result of the January 6 Insurrection (House Chief Administrative Officer)

3/3 - House Sergeant at Arms bulletin to Congress re: March 4th security information (via @RebeccaRKaplan)

3/5 - Task Force 1-6: Capitol Security Review report [Lt. General Russel Honoré] (via Politico)

4/14 - Workplace Violence: Not Substantiated; Standards of Conduct: Not Substantiated (AOC OIG)

4/27 - Flash Report Series - Architect of the Capitol's (AOC) Emergency Preparedness Ahead of the January 6, 2021 U.S. Capitol Event (AOC OIG)

4/29 - Semiannual Report to the Congress (AOC OIG)

5/5 - Flash Report – Independent Assessment of the AOC’s Role in Securing the Capitol Campus for Large Public Gatherings (AOC OIG; see also, corrected report from 5/2/22 below)

6/16 Capitol Police: Applying Effective Practices to Address Recommendations Will Improve Oversight and Management (GAO)

8/5 Architect of the Capitol: Efforts Have Begun to Update Cannon House Office Building's Renovation Cost and Schedule Estimates (GAO)

8/9 Capitol Attack: Special Event Designations Could Have Been Requested for January 6, 2021, but Not All DHS Guidance is Clear (GAO)

2022

2/9 - Architect of the Capitol (AOC) Employees and Contractors Accused of Noncompliance, obeyed United States Capitol Police (USCP) Orders on January 6 (AOC OIG)

2/17 - Capitol Attack: The Capitol Police Need Clearer Emergency Procedures and a Comprehensive Security Risk Assessment Process (GAO)

3/7 - Capitol Attack: Additional Actions Needed to Better Prepare Capitol Police Officers for Violent Demonstrations (GAO)

3/8 - Flash Report Series - U.S. Capitol Building Window Installation, Preservation and Repair: Before and After January 6, 2021 (AOC OIG)

3/28 - Effects of COVID-19 and the Events of January 6 Have Increased the Cannon House Office Building Renewal Project’s Contracts by $5.6 Million and Further Increases are Expected (AOC OIG)

4/12 - Semiannual Status Update on Cannon House Office Building Renewal (CHOBr) Project, Period Ended December 31, 2021 (AOC OIG)

5/2 - Capitol Attack: Federal Agencies' Use of Open Source Data and Related Threat Products Prior to January 6, 2021 (GAO)

5/2 - Correction to the Flash Report Series - Independent Assessment of the Architect of the Capitol's (AOC) Role in Securing the Capitol Campus for Large Public Gatherings (Report No. OIG-AUD-2021-03); and Termination of the Independent Assessment of the AOC's Progress on the Backlog of Security Related Deferred Maintenance Projects Subsequent to the Events of January 6 (2022-AUD-003-0) (AOC OIG)

5/17 - Semiannual Report to The Congress (AOC OIG)

9/13 - Semiannual Status Update on Cannon House Office Building Renewal (CHOBr) Project, Period Ended June 30, 2022 (AOC OIG)

2023

2/28 - Capitol Attack: Federal Agencies Identified Some Threats, but Did Not Fully Process and Share Information Prior to January 6, 2021 (GAO; see 7/21 below for revised report. Original available in Internet Archive.)

7/21 - Capitol Attack: Federal Agencies Identified Some Threats, but Did Not Fully Process and Share Information Prior to January 6, 2021 [Reissued with revisions]

2025

1/16 - White Paper on the Architect of the Capitol’s Emergency Management