Skip to Main Content
The Library

Attack on the U.S. Capitol / Impeachment: Impeachment

About

This section includes official documents related to the second impeachment of Donald Trump. General statements by members of Congress are available on the "Congress" tab of this guide.

Impeachment Timeline

1/11 H.Res. 24 - Impeaching Donald John Trump, President of the United States, for high crimes and misdemeanors - introduced in House with one article, "incitement of insurrection"
1/12 H. Res 41 - Providing for consideration of H.Res. 24
1/12 Materials in Support of H. Res. 24 (via Internet Archive) (report by the majority staff of the House Committee on the Judiciary)
1/13 Video of impeachment proceedings, part 1 and part 2 (via C-SPAN, with transcripts); see also, Congressional Record for 1/13/21
1/13 Impeachment resolution passed in House; see roll call vote
1/15 The Impeachment and Trial of a Former President (CRS report)
1/25 Exhibition of article of impeachment against Donald John Trump, President of the United States (Congressional Record 167:14)
1/26 Senate impeachment trial, swearing-in and rules (video via C-Span)
1/26 On Rand Paul's motion that impeachment is unconstitutional (video via C-Span, with roll call vote)
2/2 H.Doc. 117-9: Impeachment of President Donald John Trump: the Evidentiary Record, vol 1 | vol 2 | vol 3 | vol 4
2/2 House impeachment managers file trial brief, explain Senate's obligation to hear case against Donald Trump (Via Internet Archive) (direct to brief, "Trial Memorandum of the United States House of Representatives in the Impeachment Trial of President Donald J. Trump") (Via Internet Archive)
2/2 Answer of President Donald John Trump, 45th President of the United States, to Article I: Incitement of Insurrection
2/4 House impeachment managers request former president Trump testify under oath next week
2/4 Letter from Trump's attorneys, Bruce Castor and David Schoen, responding to request for Trump to testify (via @JasonMillerinDC on Twitter)
2/4 Lead impeachment manager Raskin statement on former president Trump's refusal to testify under oath
2/8 Trump attorneys file trial brief, "Trial Memorandum of Donald J. Trump, 45th President of the United States of America"
2/8 U.S. House of Representatives files replication to former president Trump's answer to the article of impeachment (direct to replication (via Internet Archive) )
2/8 Agreement on Structure to Ensure a Fair and Honest Bipartisan Senate Impeachment Trial of Donald J. Trump (direct to S. Res.)
2/9 S. Res. 47 - To provide for related procedures concerning the article of impeachment against Donald John Trump, former President of the United States
2/9 U.S. House of Representatives files reply to former president Trump's impeachment trial brief (Via Internet Archive) (direct to reply (via Internet Archive))
2/9 Impeachment proceedings, day 1 (Via Internet Archive) (video; see also, Congressional Record)
2/9 House impeachment managers' video compilation of January 6 attack on the U.S. Capitol (video, via CSPAN)
2/9 Senate votes 56-44 to proceed with trial
2/10 S. Doc 117-2: Proceedings of the United States Senate in the Impeachment Trial of Donald John Trump, part 1 | part 2 | part 3
2/10 Impeachment proceedings, day 2 (via Internet Archive)  (video, see also, Congressional Record)
2/11 Impeachment proceedings, day 3 (via Internet Archive) (video, see also, Congressional Record)
2/12 Impeachment proceedings, day 4 (via Internet Archive) (video, see also, Congressional Record)
2/12 Herrera Beutler Again Confirms Conversation with McCarthy Regarding January 6 U.S. Capitol Attack (via Internet Archive)(read into record)
2/13 Impeachment proceedings, day 5 (via Internet Archive) (video, see also, Congressional Record)
2/13 Senate votes "not guilty" by a vote of 57-43
2/13 Trump statement on acquittal (via @Yamiche on Twitter)