LibGuides: Chemical Prices, Companies, and Industry Information: Chemical Pricing & Suppliers

Chemical Suppliers and/or Prices

These are some other sources, including databases for chemical and material suppliers, where you may be able to get current and/or historical pricing information on your chemicals. Some suppliers list prices for smaller units (grams/milligrams, liters/milliliters, etc.) on their websites, while bulk pricing is only available by contacting the supplier for a quote.

You may also need to search across our business and news databases as well.

SciFinder
From the chemical substance (CAS Registry) record, you can find commercial suppliers, which you can customize to see preferred vendors first. Other information included: purity, stock status and shipping times. There may be some pricing, but more often there's a link back to the original supplier catalog where you can check prices. Suppliers that offer bulk quantities are indicated, but you usually have to request a quote for the pricing. First-time users will need to register for a SciFinder-n account (VPN required to access this page off campus).
ChemAnalyst
Quarterly market overviews for 400+ chemicals and commodities, with recent (though not real-time) prices.
Reaxys
Like Scifinder-n, you can search Reaxys for commercial availability information for your compound. Look for the small shopping cart icon in the record, under the chemical structure. Click that shopping cart to get a list of commercial suppliers. Some suppliers may provide costs for small amounts in grams/milligrams, while others only provide amounts and costs upon request.
USGS Minerals Information
A wealth of economic information on minerals, including historic data and mineral industry reports by country. Publications include: Mineral Commodity Summaries, Mineral Industry Surveys, Minerals Yearbook and Metal Industry Indicators, Nonmetallic Mineral Products Industry Indexes.
ChemExper
Another chemical database with supplier information. Prices aren't included (just a link to get a quote), but you can then search on the company website for more details.
Daily Prices - U.S. Energy Information Administration
Daily wholesale and retail prices for oil, gas, coal, and ethanol.
ThomasNet
Formerly known as the Thomas Register. Extensive database of supplier catalogs and products, including chemicals. Free to search, but some features require a registration.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Covers all aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering. Many of the articles on chemical covers uses, manufacturing and processing, and economic aspects, but note the date of the article.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Articles on all topics in chemistry and chemical engineering, including production, uses and economic aspects for many important chemicals. Good complement to Kirk-Othmer, but note the date of the article.