Click on the Country Information and Reports tab for a list of resources providing background, introductory, and even advnaced country information and reports. Many of these resources are taken from the Statistics/Data Tab of the UCSD Library International Government Information Research Guide which poionts to resources to find great background information and statistics on countries around the world. Using such resources is a helpful place to start research on any Latin American country.
The Business Research Guide is also an excellent starting place.
Keyword searching in UC Library Search for these phrases/keywords may be effective, particularly for historical material:
These searches may lead you to the International directory of company histories -- a very useful resources which is part of Gale Business Insights
The following authors have produced useful serials and reports:
GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
Industry and company news and reports covering technology, telecom, electric power, oil and gas, mining, infrastructure, banking, insurance, water, and privatization sectors across Latin America. Access requires setting up an account. Please send an email from your UC San Diego account, providing your name, affiliation (department, program, etc), and status (undergrad, grad student, staff, faculty, post-doc or visiting scholar) and send to the following email address: bnamericashelp@ucsd.edu
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
It provides access to company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. It is especially useful for company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views, SEC filings, and other reports.
Industry and company news and reports covering technology, telecom, electric power, oil and gas, mining, infrastructure, banking, insurance, water, and privatization sectors across Latin America. Access requires setting up an account. Please send an email from your UC San Diego account, providing your name, affiliation (department, program, etc), and status (undergrad, grad student, staff, faculty, post-doc or visiting scholar) and send to the following email address: bnamericashelp@ucsd.edu
The News Sources on Latin America tab lists many general and regionally/subject specific news sources which are useful for historical and contemporary business research.
In addition, there are many important business-specific resources to be aware of. These include:
Provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
