POLI 126AA: Modern Capitalism (Summer 2021): Home

This guide is designed to help you navigate Library-licensed and open access research sources beyond what you might easily find in UC Library Search.

Use the front page to find quick links to frequently requested resources and tools.
Explore the tabs on the left to find curated links to specialized resources for different subfields, methodologies, and research questions.

Accessing Electronic Resources?

If you are located on-campus, make sure that you are connected to the UCSD-Protected wifi.

If you are located off-campus, start by setting up VPN AnyConnect on your device.

VPN Instructions

VPN Troubleshooting

The UC San Diego Health and Health Science VPN also provides off campus access to resources the Library provides. Instructions and assistance for UC San Diego Health and Health Science VPN users can be found in the Pulse intranet.

Finding Wikipedia articles to edit

Wiki Edu Article Finder
Tool designed especially for students looking for Wikipedia articles to enhance.
Wikipedia Citation Hunt tool
Search by keyword (e.g., policy or politics) to find Wikipedia articles in need of updating with citations.
Wiki Edu Finding Articles Tutorial (for instructors)

Tips:

Avoid "Featured" or "Good“ articles
Avoid controversial topics for your first edits
Many topics on Wikipedia belong to a WikiProject, a group of Wikipedians focusing on improving coverage in a certain category. Check the article’s Talk page.
- WikiProject pages usually have an assessment table
- Your best bets are Stub and Start articles of Mid, High, or Top importance.

Wikipedia Help

Help:Getting started
Introduction to referencing
Wikipedia says: "One of the key policies of Wikipedia is that all article content has to be verifiable. This means that a reliable source must be able to support the material. All quotations and any material whose verifiability has been challenged or is likely to be challenged must include an inline citation of a source that directly supports the material."

Best Bets

UC Library Search - search all of the UC's library collections
UC Library Search allows you to search all of the University of California's library collections. It includes scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, books and ebooks, course reserves, special formats (media, maps, newspapers, dissertations, etc.), government documents and datasets and primary resources, archives, and special collections

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
ProQuest - All Databases
Select and search across multiple databases we license from ProQuest. Most of these databases index--and in some cases provide full text access--of journals in all subject areas, along with indexing books, book chapters, dissertations and other sources. You can also add some non-journal databases to your search, like Dissertations & Theses and several major newspapers (New York Times, Wall Street Journal, etc). However, a few ProQuest products, such as Congressional, Statistical Abstracts of the World, and Statistical Insight, are not included here and must be searched separately.
EBSCO - All Databases
Select and search across multiple databases we license from EBSCO, including Academic Search Complete. These databases index journals and magazines--and in many cases provide full text access--in all subject areas in the social sciences, arts and humanities, and science and engineering. Additional sources like newspapers, books and book chapters are also indexed in some of these databases.
OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary is the Organisation for Economic Cooperation & Development's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to its analysis and data. Coverage includes development, economics, education, energy, environment, scitech, social issues, and more.

World Social Protection Report 2020-22: Universal social protection to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals
The report presents the latest social security trends and provides information on social protection systems, coverage, benefits and expenditures in more than 190 countries. Covers children and families; women and men of working age (employment, unemployment, disability, leave); older women and men (pensions and social security); and health coverage.

Best Bets for News

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources.
Access World News
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
Factiva
Factiva.com provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
The Economist
Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist online, which covers recent contents. We also have a special link for The Economist Historical Archive (covers 1823-2015).
Los Angeles Times (1985-present)
New York Times (1999-present)
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
This ProQuest site includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.

Google Custom Search Engines for Finding Government and Nongovernmental Publications

►Search tip: If you get too many results, try adding one of these words to your search terms:

"policy surveillance"
"policy tracker"
"policy brief"
"issue brief"
"bill analysis"
report
strategy
plan
statistics
directory
Geographic or administrative divisions - California, San Diego, etc.

►Bonus search tip: Google-powered searches can be limited to pages published during a specific timeframe by using before:[date] and/or after:[date]

We are here to help!

Connect with real people for personalized assistance via chat or email, or schedule a consultation or Library instruction session!

24/7 Chat

Email us

Schedule a Research Consultation

Request Library Instruction

Government Responses to COVID-19

FAO - Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) - Country Profiles
ILO - Country policy responses
IMF - Policy Responses to COVID-19
International IDEA - Global Monitor of COVID-19´s impact on Democracy and Human Rights
Oxford COVID-19 Government Response Tracker
Response2covid19 - Governments' Responses to COVID-19
Social Protection Responses to COVID-19 Crisis Around the World
CoronaNet Research Project
A database on government responses to the coronavirus compiled by a community of over more than 500 political, social and public health science scholars from all over the world.
The COVID States Project
The 50-state COVID-19 project shares reports, polling, and other data and information collected by a multi-university group of researchers with expertise in computational social science, network science, public opinion polling, epidemiology, public health, communication, and political science. The aim is to help practitioners and governments to make informed decisions and allocate resources more effectively. The research seeks to identify links between social behaviors and virus transmission, as well as and the impact of messaging and regulation on individual and community outcomes during this crisis.