This guide is designed to help you navigate Library-licensed and open access research sources beyond what you might easily find in UC Library Search.
You can access thousands of e-journals, e-books, databases, and more through UC San Diego Library.
For on-campus access, make sure that you are connected to the UCSD-Protected wifi.
To access library resources from off-campus:
Sign in to UC Library Search with OpenAthens for seamless access.
For help with troubleshooting, visit our Connect to Library Resources page.
❌Avoid "Featured" or "Good“ articles
❌Avoid controversial topics for your first edits
✔️Many topics on Wikipedia belong to a WikiProject, a group of Wikipedians focusing on improving coverage in a certain category. Check the article’s Talk page.
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.
Select and search across multiple databases we license from ProQuest. Most of these databases index--and in some cases provide full text access to--journals in all subject areas, along with indexing books, book chapters, dissertations, and other sources. You can also add some non-journal databases to your search, like Dissertations & Theses and several major newspapers (New York Times, Wall Street Journal, etc). However, a few ProQuest products, such as Congressional, Statistical Abstracts of the World, and Statistical Insight, are not included here and must be searched separately.
Select and search across multiple databases we license from EBSCO, including Academic Search Complete. These databases index journals and magazines--and in many cases provide full text access--in all subject areas in the social sciences, arts and humanities, and science and engineering. Additional sources like newspapers, books and book chapters are also indexed in some of these databases.
OECD iLibrary is the Organisation for Economic Cooperation & Development's Online Library for Books, Papers and Statistics and the gateway to its analysis and data. Coverage includes development, economics, education, energy, environment, scitech, social issues, and more.
Create free online and app account to current and historical New York Times content. All UCSD faculty, staff, and students are eligible. Program sponsored by Associated Students and UC San Diego Library.
Contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, news wires, television news transcripts, newsletters, magazines, and trade journals. Business sources include company information, industry news, and biographical information. Legal sources include law reviews, legal reference works, and federal and state caselaw (court decisions), statutes, and regulations. Also includes select international court opinions and municipal ordinances. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources.
Provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist online, which covers recent contents. We also have a special link for The Economist Historical Archive (covers 1823-2015).
►Search tip: If you get too many results, try adding one of these words to your search terms:
►Bonus search tip: Google-powered searches can be limited to pages published during a specific timeframe by using before:[date] and/or after:[date]
