This guide is designed to help you navigate Library-licensed and open access research sources beyond what you might easily find in UC Library Search.
If you are located on-campus, make sure that you are connected to the UCSD-Protected wifi.
If you are located off-campus, start by setting up VPN AnyConnect on your device.
The UC San Diego Health and Health Science VPN also provides off campus access to resources the Library provides. Instructions and assistance for UC San Diego Health and Health Science VPN users can be found in the Pulse intranet.
Start by exploring these resources. There is a very good chance you will not need additional tools unless you want to dive in even more deeply.
Research individual international organizations
Search for scholarly articles and books about international organizations
Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; State Session Laws Library; State Statutes: A Historical Archive; Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes); World Constitutions Illustrated; World Treaty Library. Also includes special topics databases.
Searching for information created by international organizations?
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is the World Bank’s official open access repository, from which anyone can freely access its research outputs and knowledge products released since 2000.
UC Library Search, accessible from the search box on the library's homepage, helps you locate books, film, music, maps, and various other materials at the UC San Diego Library and beyond. It also contains a limited number of online journals and newspaper articles. You may search by keyword, title, and author, and filter your search to what is available online. You can also place an interlibrary loan request through UC Library Search for materials at other UC campuses or libraries worldwide using your Single Sign-On credentials.
UC Library Search does not include all the content to which the Library subscribes. To extend your search, try a database. The database you use depends on the topic or subject you have chosen and the type of information you need to access. You may choose among broad subject areas (e.g., biology, art, political science, etc.), as well as interdisciplinary databases or ones that search across multiple disciplines.
►Search tip: If you get too many results, try adding one of these words to your search terms:
►Bonus search tip: Google-powered searches can be limited to pages published during a specific timeframe by using before:[date] and/or after:[date]
Connect with real people for personalized assistance via chat or email, or schedule a consultation or Library instruction session!
