Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Protests Against Police Brutality (2020): Black Members of Congress

Helps document the federal government’s response to racial justice protests following the police murder of George Floyd

About

While there are too many for this guide to track consistently, Black voices in Congress should be prominent in any research about the federal government's response to racial justice protests. To help you identify and find those voices, this page lists all the Black members of the Senate and the House and links to the press releases page for each.

Black Congressional Members, 116th Congress (1/3/2019 - 1/3/2021)

Senate

Booker, Cory Anthony *Scott, Tim      
Harris, Kamala Devi (archive)                              

House

Adams, Alma Kelly, Robin L.
Allred, Colin Lawrence, Brenda L.
Bass, Karen      Lawson, Alfred Jr.
Beatty, Joyce Lee, Barbara
Bishop, Sanford Dixon, Jr. Lewis, John R. (archive)
Blunt Rochester, Lisa McBath, Lucy  
Brown, Anthony Gregory McEachin, Aston Donald
Butterfield, George Kenneth, Jr. (G. K.) Meeks, Gregory W.
Carson, André Mfume, Kweisi
Clarke, Yvette Diane Moore, Gwendolynne S. (Gwen)
Clay, William Lacy, Jr. (archive) Neguse, Joseph
Cleaver, Emanuel, II Norton, Eleanor Holmes
Clyburn, James Enos Omar, Ilhan     
Davis, Danny K. Payne, Donald, Jr.
Delgado, Antonio Plaskett, Stacey E.
Demings, Valdez Butler Pressley, Ayanna
Evans, Dwight Richmond, Cedric (archive)
Fudge, Marcia L. (archive) Rush, Bobby L.
Green, Al Scott, David    
Hastings, Alcee Lamar (archive) Scott, Robert C.
Hayes, Jahana Sewell, Terri
Horsford, Steven Thompson, Bennie
*Hurd, William Ballard (archive) Underwood, Lauren
Jackson Lee, Sheila Veasey, Marc  
Jeffries, Hakeem Waters, Maxine
Johnson, Eddie Bernice Watson Coleman, Bonnie
Johnson, Hank Wilson, Frederica

List Source: House of Representatives - Black-American Representatives and Senators by Congress, 1870–Present

Notes:

This page does not include Elijah Cummings, who died October 2019.

Members with an asterisk preceding name are Republicans.

Names of members no longer in Congress are linked to the Internet Archive.