Librarian on site
Weekly drop in hours for students are available at Otterson Library at Rady School of Management during the regular semester hours.
Remote Access
If you are accessing our licensed resources from off campus, you need ot activate one of the remote access applications in order to gain access.
The quickest option is the web vpn. Also, there are two downloadable clients that are alternatives.
web vpn: https://vpn.ucsd.edu
login with your AD username and password
this option works fastest and best for most business information sources
These options work as alternatives. The first is the preferable choice; the second is easier to set up but no longer officially supported by the university computing services.
vpn client: http://ow.ly/80GC1
Proxy server: http://ow.ly/80GFC
All remote access choices sometimes glitch. Known problems most often are related to strong firewalls (chose option two; you still may need to change firewall settings).
Frequently Used Resources
- Wall Street Journal
UCSD gets the current day's content of the WSJ via WSJ Proquest and via the News Pages of Factiva. Use the Proquest interface if you want a precise search for a topic; use the Factiva News Pages version if you want to access to graphics and downloadable audio content. Proquest offers article alerts to your email and can search back to 1980. If you need access to WSJ content older than that, or full page images, use the WSJ Historical database.
http://uclibs.org/PID/11383 (ProQuest current)
http://uclibs.org/PID/32497 (Factiva current)
http://uclibs.org/PID/11380 (ProQuest historical)
- Harvard Business Review
Quick access to the current and back issues of HBR.
- Business & Company Resource Center (BCRC)
BCRC is a great first-stop for business information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources.
http://uclibs.org/PID/113854
- Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to business. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more.
http://uclibs.org/PID/126938
User Guide (large .doc file)
- Factiva
Factiva.com provides access to over 8,000 sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports Factiva.com delivers content in 22 languages.
Supported Browsers
http://uclibs.org/PID/32497
- The Economist (UCSD)
Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist online. Use this link to specifically browse the feed for the latest banking-related articles in The Economist. - LexisNexis Academic
Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Former name: Academic Universe. http://uclibs.org/PID/20081
Master LexisNexis Source Locator
Tutorials
LexisNexis Wiki for Higher Education
- Mergent Online
Mergent Online provides public company information on more than 45,000 U.S. and international companies, both active and inactive. Includes historical annual reports, SEC filings, a report builder, up to 30 years' of downloadable financials.
http://uclibs.org/PID/115823
Research Help |
Contact Info Economics & Business Librarian Social Sciences & Humanities Library University of California, San Diego 9500 Gilman Dr. 0175R La Jolla, CA 92093-0175 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |



Loading...
