Collection Profile
Our collections are tailored to meet the current and ongoing research and instructional needs of faculty and students primarily in the Department of History.
The scope of European Studies encompasses the entire European geographic area from Great Britain to countries of the Former Soviet Union. The history of Spain, France, Italy, and the German-speaking areas form the core geographies and languages, apart from English, of UCSD's collections. The interdisciplinary and cross-disciplinary research interests in European Studies extend into other major areas such as philosophy and religion, Classical Studies, sociology, and history of science.
The Science Studies Program is comprised of faculty from the Departments of History, Philosophy, Communication, and Sociology, and the cross-fertilization of academic interests is obvious. Most recently, the Center for Comparative Immigration Studies announced a focus on Europe, and our collections support research in the emerging areas of European ethnicity, migration, and the immigrant experience.
As research interests develop and evolve, please contact the European Studies Librarian to discuss your needs or to request specific purchases for the UCSD Libraries.
Key Resources
- EuroDocs "Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe"Links to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexContains journal articles, book reviews, book essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Indexing began in 1995.
- FRANCIS (International Humanities and Social Studies)
International index to journal articles published from 1984 to present in the humanities and social sciences, with special strength in religion, anthropology, history of art, literature and economics. - Historical Abstracts
1954-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. - History of Science, Technology and Medicine
1975-present. Covers a wide range of topics in the history of science. - ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance1990-present. Bibliography of journal articles on the Middle Ages and Renaissance, covering the period 400-1700.
- JSTOR
Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included. - Periodicals Index Online
1665-1995. Index to 16 million articles from 4,700 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences; 30 percent non-English language. 10 percent of articles listed also include page images from Periodicals Archive Online. - WESSWebA wide variety of links for Western European Studies (including Scandinavia). Library catalogs, news, history, politics, etc.
Contact Info |
Contact Info Social Sciences & Humanities Library University of California, San Diego 9500 Gilman Drive, 0175R La Jolla, CA 92093-0175 Phone (858) 534-6443 Fax (858) 534-7548 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
