Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Article Databases & Indexes
L'Annee Philologique (Database of Classical Bibliography) This link opens in a new window
1969-present. Citations to scholarly work in all languages concerning Greek and Latin linguistics and literature, Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world. (Print edition of the most recent 10 years available in SSHL reference, call number PA3001 .A613.)
Bibliography of British and Irish History
BBIH provides bibliographic data on books, articles in books, and articles in almost 700 periodicals dealing with the British Isles, Empire, and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available--from 55 B.C. to the present.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
A crucial bibliographical megasite for information about books, periodicals, newspapers, and archives from the Nineteenth Century, particularly from Britain and North America.
CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
1969-present. Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Contains journal articles, book reviews, book essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Indexing began in 1995. Formerly known as the Medieval Feminist Index.
Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Databases This link opens in a new window
International index to journal articles published from 1972 to 2015, provides access to more than 20 million references in the humanities and social sciences, with special strength in religion, anthropology, history of art, literature, economics.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine This link opens in a new window
1975-present. Covers a wide range of topics in the history of science.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary.
PAIS Archive This link opens in a new window
1915-1976. Lists articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) This link opens in a new window
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
1665-2000. Full text of 1.4 million articles from 450 North American and European journals in arts, humanities, social sciences. 20 percent non-English. Also try the much larger Periodicals Index Online.
Periodicals Index Online This link opens in a new window
1665-1995. Index to 16 million articles from 4,700 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences; 30 percent non-English language. 10 percent of articles listed also include page images from Periodicals Archive Online.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals Online
Search by subject or browse full text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.
Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies
Describes material on the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Valuable tool for identifying non-English language resources.
Access to four independent databases: 1) international relations and security trends; 2) multilateral peace operations; 3) military expenditures; 4) arms transfers. From the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
1900-present. Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Science Citation Index. Major database indexes 10,000+ journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, & humanities, as well as conference proceedings.