LibGuides: European Studies: Home

Key Resources

EuroDocs "Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe"
Links to Western European (mainly primary) historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Contains journal articles, book reviews, book essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Indexing began in 1995.
Pascal and Francis Bibliographic Databases
International index to journal articles published from 1984 to present in the humanities and social sciences, with special strength in religion, anthropology, history of art, literature and economics.
Historical Abstracts
1863-present. International database for research on history of all regions (except the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the current decade. Content includes
indexing of historical articles from more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine
1975-present. Covers a wide range of topics in the history of science.

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and the Renaissance
1990-present. Bibliography of journal articles on the Middle Ages and Renaissance, covering the period 400-1700.

JSTOR
Search by subject or browse 2,600+ full-text titles, predominantly scholarly journals and books in social sciences, history, humanities, and science and mathematics, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years often not included. JSTOR provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.

La Guerra Civil Española = the Spanish Civil War collection
From 1936 to 1939 Spain was a country divided both politically and militarily. The rebel Nationalist forces, led by General Francisco Franco, fought a bloody war against the left-wing Republican government, which finally ended in the triumph of Franco's forces and the overthrow of democracy in Spain. Foreign powers intervened on both sides, with fascist troops from Italy and Germany supporting the Nationalists, and soldiers from the Soviet Union joining international volunteers in support of the Republicans. In the years leading up to the Second World War, the Spanish Civil War became a symbol of the growing global struggle between fascism and democracy.
1914-1918-Online. International Encyclopedia of the First World War
This database is is an English-language virtual reference work on the First World War. The multi-perspective, open-access knowledge base is the result of an international collaborative project involving more than 1,000 authors, editors, and partners from over fifty countries. More than 1,000 articles will be gradually published.
Periodicals Archive Online
1802-1995. Full text of 1.4 million articles from 450 North American and European journals in arts, humanities, social sciences. 20 percent non-English. Represents about 10 percent of journals included in Periodicals Index Online.
Periodicals Index Online
1665-1995. Index to 16 million articles from 4,700 North American and European scholarly journals in arts, humanities, social sciences; 30 percent non-English language. 10 percent of articles listed also include page images from Periodicals Archive Online.
European Studies Section
A wide variety of links for European Studies.