LibGuides: MGT 185: Investment Banking: IPO peformance

Using Refinitiv Workspace to Track IPO Activity

in Refinitiv Workspace use the Deals Market Overview section.

Option 1: Path > Markets > Deals Markets (or type shortcut DEALSMOV in top search box)

Use the sub-menu to choose "Current Deals" tab, and set the Asset Type to Equities and the Issue Type to IPO. You may also filter by country and industry.

This view lets you set filters to look at deals in the U.S., an industry, and set a (recent) time frame and type of issue (IPO). click on the report icon to get deal details (Deal Tearsheet icon, left side of display) and links to SEC filings.

While in Deal Tearsheet view, you may click on the type of SEC filing from the Form Name column (e.g., S-1 series for prospectuses, 8-K, 10-K, etc.)

NOTE: If you want the filing, click the filing name. Otherwise clicking on the company name itself takes you to a company overview.

Option 2: Path > Markets > Deals Markets > Market Overview

This section provides a graphic visualization of global activity.

Getting IPO prospectuses from SEC filings

The easiest way is to use Mergent Online. You also may go to the SEC's EDGAR website (doesn't require using the vpn or campus network).

Mergent path > Government Filings tab

at the bottom of the form, choose Filing Type: select S1 (the basic registration statement form)

Edgar (SEC) search:

This search lets you see the most recent filings (see RSS feed below for the type of results you'll get). Merely input "S-1" into Form type. EDGAR is good at immediacy but bad at helping you sort into industries and other criteria.

Latest SEC Form S-1 Filings:

News Feeds on IPO Activity via Business Source Complete

See the full list of the most recent articles on IPOs.

Other Places Likely to Have IPO News

Business Source Complete
- This link opens in a new window
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. (Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic).
The Economist
- This link opens in a new window
Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist online, which covers recent contents. We also have a special link for The Economist Historical Archive (covers 1823-2015).

Barron's (Factiva)
- This link opens in a new window
Barron’s is a long-standing business news publication focused on financial markets and investing. Content is international in scope, through a "Wall Street" lens. This link searches across all Barron’s content via our Factiva platform, covering the print editions (1987-present) plus the Barron’s Online content (starts 2008), blogs and podcasts (starts 2022). Alternative access points:
- Newsstand format provides the four latest editions arranged section-by-section, and browseable like the original newspaper. From the main Barron’s link, navigate to Home on Factiva’s menu, and scroll to the US Newsstand section. Barron’s is on the fourth dot of the carousel.
- Individual Factiva articles offer translate-on-demand into multiple languages, or text-to-audio for English content.
- There are direct links to Barron’s China (simplified) and Barron’s China (traditional) editions (starts 2021).
- Barron’s Archive is available on ProQuest platform (1921-2010).
- Online access also occurs via ProQuest’s Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection (1988-present). This version allows email alerts for new issues or topics.
- Current print editions are in Geisel Library’s Current Journals area, call number HG1 B3.
Financial Times
Popular source of global business news, commentary and analysis on business, finance, and related topics for executives, students and researchers. Stay up-to-date on the world's economic changes. We have fulltext and backfile. The current 30 days are embargoed online. Latest 60 days of the print edition are in Geisel's Newspapers section (2nd fl., West Wing). Archives (1888-2020),

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
This ProQuest site includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.

WSJ.com
- This link opens in a new window
The Wall Street Journal now available from their website for all UCSD students and employees with single sign-on authentication.

IBIS World for Industry Maturity Scan

IBISWorld Industry Intelligence
- This link opens in a new window
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.

An industry report in IBIS World contains several segments that could help with estimating future performance of an industry:

Industry at a Glance
- life cycle, barriers to entry, concentration
Industry Performance
- consolodation and globalization, revenue growth trend
Industry Overview
- regulation and conolidation, estimated revenue growth outlook (5 years) , industry life cycle graph and discussion
Competitive Landscape
- market share concentration, barriers to entry, cost structure benchmarks
Operating Conditions
- revenue volatility, regulation and policy considerations
Key Statistics
- past industry trends and ratios (benchmarks), estimates of revenue growth,

MGT 185: Investment Banking: IPO peformance

What Helps with IPO News and Analysis?