LibGuides: MGT 185: Investment Banking: Welcome

Guide to Research

Investment Banking by Joshua Rosenbaum; Joshua Pearl; Joseph R. Perella (Foreword by); Joshua Harris (Afterword by)
Call Number: O'Reilly e-book
ISBN: 1119706181
Publication Date: 2022
NEW Edition! This 3rd Edition includes both the technical valuation fundamentals as well as practical judgment skills and perspective. This book focuses on the primary valuation methodologies currently used on Wall Street: comparable companies analysis, precedent transactions analysis, discounted cash flow analysis, and leveraged buyout analysis. This new edition includes two new chapters covering IPOs plus contributions from Nasdaq, the leading U.S. exchange and technology provider for IPOs and new listings, and global law firm Latham & Watkins LLP Access to six downloadable valuation model templates and more.

Research Help

Email Me

Contact:

Business & Entrepreneurship Librarian

UC San Diego Library

University of California, San Diego

9500 Gilman Dr. 0175R

La Jolla, CA 92093-0175

Subjects: Business

Quick Links

Here are links to frequently-used resources, for your convenience.

Mergent Online
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports.
Factiva
Factiva.com provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports. Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Refinitiv Workspace
Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. RW is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
RW is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.
Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
Key Business Ratios
This online version of Dun & Bradstreet's Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios includes current benchmarking data for U.S. public and private businesses using parameters of solvency, profitability and efficiency for 800 lines of business. Features include importing and exporting of data. For historical ratios (older than current five years), use the Mergent Archives.
Gale Business Insights
- This link opens in a new window
GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
Nexis Uni
The new successor to LexisNexis Academic, Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches, and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.

News Feeds on IPOs and M&A Activity via Business Source Complete

See the full list of the most recent articles on IPOs.

Hoover's Company Reports

Hoover's Company Profiles in Nexis Uni (aka Lexis-Nexis Academic)
Nexis Uni yields a number of useful results, including our online access to Hoover's Company Profiles, which contain background on companies and their operations, plus lists their key executives and competitors..

FILTER QUICKLY FOR *only* the Hoover's Company Records:
- Use the link above, then scroll down to the section called "Source"
- Type Hoovers, and choose the "in depth records" option. At the top, in the Searching All box, input the name of the organization you are researching.

Librarian Office Hours

HOURS RE-START OCT. 11, 2023

https://ucsd.zoom.us/j/99556736499
Get passcode from graphic or alt text above

until then - 24/7 CHAT HELP,
schedule a one-on-one appointment
or email Adele directly

logo for 24/7 chat service
https://library.ucsd.edu/ask-us/chat.html

Additional resource guides:

Market Research Resources @ UCSD
Economics Resources Guide
Finding Data Guide
This guide has links to the broadest range of data resources you have access to.
Career Choice & Change
Learning Excel Guide
Although this guide originally was for undergraduates, it contains links to materials of interest to a range of readers who range from beginner through advanced level with Excel.
Project Management Resources Guide
Searching Patents
Business Ethics & CSR

MGT 185: Investment Banking: Welcome

About this guide