IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
An industry report in IBIS World contains several segments that could help with estimating future performance of an industry:
Other sources:
We have a couple online sourced that provide ratios, but they are limited in the number of companies they follow and/or the type of ratios they provide: Mergent and IBISWorld. If you are in those databases already, it may be simple to pull the ratios directly from them.
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports. **This resource will be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas in June 2025.
**This resource will replace Mergent Online in June 2025. It provides access to company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. It is especially useful for company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views and reports.
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
These resources cover background on industries or companies from a risk analysis perspective.
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. Workspace is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
BMI provides proprietary data, analyst reports, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Login path: choose SSO > Organization ID = UCSD. BMI includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts.
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports. **This resource will be replaced by Mergent Market Atlas in June 2025.
These books provide background on understanding and using ratio analysis.
The full list of books about ratio analysis and financial statements. Below are the "classics" and highlighted materials:
Financial Statement Analysis, 5th ed. by 
Financial Forecasting, Analysis, and Modelling by 
Analysis of Financial Statements, 3rd ed. by 
Total Management by Ratios: an analytic approach to management control and stock market valuations by 
