MGT 103: Product Marketing and Management: Financial & Other Data Sources

Use this guide to find content for your marketing plan class assignment.

Best Bets for Company & Industry Statistics

Mergent Online
- This link opens in a new window
For public companies: will give you number of employees, revenue figures and basic overviews. Great for historical financial data
Key Business Ratios
- This link opens in a new window
This online version of Dun & Bradstreet's Industry Norms and Key Business Ratios includes current benchmarking data for U.S. public and private businesses using parameters of solvency, profitability and efficiency for 800 lines of business. Features include importing and exporting of data. For historical ratios (older than current five years), use the Mergent Archives.
Refinitiv Workspace
- This link opens in a new window
Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. RW is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
RW is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.

Statistical Data Sources

These resources should help if you need to find some statistical information or datasets. Also see the tabs for Books, Background Information, etc., for additional sources.

Global Market Information Database (GMID)
GMID presents reports on consumers and markets. Reports include details about consumer market segmentation, industry forecasts, consumer spending and attititudes, and economic and business trends. It's also a great source to download demographic information to show timeline trends.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Powerful search engine to pinpoint association, governmental and other published data sources. Some data is available to download directly from the site in Excel or PDF format or as tables in GIF format. Contains U.S. federal, regional and international sources.
County Business Patterns/ZIP Code Business Patterns
County Business Patterns (CBP) is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry, including the number of establishments and employment.

SimplyAnalytics
- This link opens in a new window
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. (formerly known as SimplyMap).
Sage Data (formerly Data-Planet)
- This link opens in a new window
Provides easy access to statistical data. Data is downloadable in Excel and CSV, and shapefiles when multiple geographies are covered. Sources include: Bombay Stock Exchange, British Bankers' Association, Chicago Board Options, Exchange, China Data Center, D&B (Dun & Bradstreet), Dave Leip's Atlas of US Presidential Elections, Defense Manpower Data Center, Deutsche Börse Group, Dow Jones, Easy Analytic Software Inc. (EASI), Eurostat, FTSE Group, HSI Services Limited (Hong Kong), International Monetary Fund, London Bullion Market Association , London Platinum & Palladium Market, NASDAQ OMX Group, National Bureau of Economic Research, Nikkei, Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, Shanghai Stock Exchange, Standard & Poor's, World Bank, World Resource Institute, Xignite, and many US Federal agencies. See the Data-Planet Libguides for more detail.

Sources of Model Plans

These resources include model plans or information about the marketing planning process.

Business.com offers a brief marketing plan for small businesses for more indepth information see the handbooks below or more books on marketing plans from the UC Library Search.

Business Plans Handbook by Gale
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781414468365
to access - click link, then 'Business' & then the BPH e-book series link; each volume of this publication contains models of plans for a variety of businesses. They are great for finding inspiration for the various parts of your plan. From the BPH series link you can search across all 24 volumes for businesses like yours.
Business Model Generation by Alexander Osterwalder; Yves Pigneur
Call Number: O'Reilly e-book
ISBN: 9780470901038
Publication Date: 2010
This book thoroughly explains the Business Model Canvas, enabling you to better use the tool for creating a new business plan or analyzing an existing one. As you go through the process, you'll understand at a much deeper level your customers, distribution channels, partners, revenue streams, costs, and your core value proposition. Creators Alexander Osterwalder and Yves Pigneur released the template with the Creative Commons license "CC BY-SA" in 2008 (you can still find it online), or you may download the canvas tool for free (with registration) via the Strategyzer website. Note: we also have a second copy of the e-book on the Proquest e-book platform available.
Content Strategy: a How-to Guide by Guiseppe Getto; Jack T. Labriola; Sheryl Ruszkiewicz
Call Number: Routledge e-book
ISBN: 9780367759506
Publication Date: 2022
This comprehensive text provides best practices for content strategy, enabling students and professionals to understand and master the skills needed to develop and manage technical content in a range of professional contexts. It describes audience analysis; content auditing; assembling content strategy plans; collaborating with other content developers; identifying appropriate channels of communication; and designing, delivering, and maintaining genres appropriate to those channels.
Marketing Plans by Malcolm McDonald; Hugh Wilson
Call Number: Geisel 6th HF 5415.I3 M369183
ISBN: 9781119217138
Publication Date: 2016
A fully revised edition of the highly renowned international bestseller about creating marketing plans, this book illustrates how-to by practical examples and simple, step-by-step templates and exercises.
Writing a Business Plan by Ignatius Ekanem
Call Number: Routledge e-book
ISBN: 9781138206021
Publication Date: 2017
This book provides a concise guide for producing the optimal business plan, because it's designed to teach you how to write your plan without relying on someone else or internet templates. It will take you through each stage of business-plan writing, with chapters on generating ideas; describing business opportunities; drawing a business road map; and considering marketing, financial, operations, HR, legal and risk. The book includes a range of features to assist you, including worked-through examples.
Write Your Business Plan by The Staff of Entrepreneur Media, Inc
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9781613083017
Publication Date: 2015
Write Your Business Plan takes aspiring entrepreneurs through the steps of writing a plan. Each chapter is devoted to analyzing, explaining, and presenting practical instruction on developing a business plan relevant to today’s marketplace and lending landscapes. Appropriate for both existing companies and brand-new startups.
The Marketing Plan Handbook by Robert W. Bly
Call Number: Ebtrepreneur Press e-book
ISBN: 9781613083031
Publication Date: 2015
Successful marketing expert and copywriter Robert W. Bly cuts through the clutter of short-lived marketing techniques and trendy gimmicks to reveal the critical steps you need to cross over from business owner to marketplace competitor. Bite-sized lessons, supported by in-chapter exercises and end-of-chapter actions, help you create an effective marketing plan that produces the results of an expensive marketing consultant.