Skip to main content

LTEN 222: Global Shakespeare: Books

Library Catalogs

Search Tips

Start with a KEYWORD search based on your topic. Try numerous synonyms. 

Useful TITLE searches in Roger: 

  • Palgrave Shakespeare Studies
  • Oxford Shakespeare Topics
  • The Cambridge Shakespeare Guide
 

SUBJECT HEADINGS:

When searching for books, pay close attention to the subject headings and use them to find more books on that topic. If you are working on a particular play, try that title as a subject. Subjects can be combined with keyword searches. 

Library of Congress subject headings for Shakespeare and adaptation:

  • Shakespeare, William 1564-1616--Adaptations
  • Shakespeare, William 1564-1616--Adaptations--History and Criticism
  • Shakespeare, William 1564-1616--Film adaptations
  • Shakespeare, William 1564-1616--Television adaptations
  • Shakespeare, William 1564-1616--Individual play title--Adaptations (this has not been used consistently)
  • Shakespeare, William 1564-1616--Stage History

 

SPECIAL COLLECTIONS:

To search for books in Special Collections, use the Advanced Search in Roger. Scroll down to Location and select Special Collections. More information on using Special Collections can be found here

Digital Texts

Literature Online (LiON) Collection of Adaptations of Shakespeare.

Eleven major editions from the First Folio to the Cambridge edition of 1863-66, twenty-four separate contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works and more than one hundred adaptations, sequels and burlesques from the seventeenth, eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Folger Digital Texts. "Meticulously accurate texts" of the plays and poems from editions in the Folger Shakespeare Library in Washington, D.C. Under a Creative Commons license, access is free as is downloading of the source code for non-profit projects.

Ben Jonson Online (Cambridge University Press).Jonson’s complete writings for readers of the twenty-first century, in the light of current editorial thinking and recent scholarly interpretation and discovery. It offers a clear sense, afforded by no other previous edition, of the shape, scale, and variety of the entire Jonsonian canon. At the same time, it is the first edition to use digital technology to give a dynamic insight into Jonson’s processes of composition and to reveal the editorial choices which underpin the modernized text.

Early English Books Online (EEBO) EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. Now includes EEBO Introductions and other secondary materials.

Digitization of The Eighteenth Century, a print library covering 150,000 titles and editions published in the United Kingdom 1701-1800. Search by keywords or browse individual books.

 

Early English Prose Fiction, more than 200 works written between 1500 and 1700; English Poetry, over 160,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets, and English Drama, over 3,900 plays in verse and prose, are all sections of Literature Online (LiON). Click here for a separate LibGuide devoted to the Literature Online database.

Early Modern Literary Studies: Electronic TextsA page with links to free online editions of texts from the 15th, 16th, and 17th centuries.

Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature. Includes texts of almost 80 sixteenth- and seventeenth-century English authors, including Sidney, Wyatt, Marlowe, Donne, Massinger, and Jonson..

Shakespeare Quartos Archive.  A digital collection of pre-1642 editions of William Shakespeare's plays.