Skip to main content

Economics: Home

More Resource Guides

 

All Business Topics Guides

All Economics Topics Guides

Find our guides on any topic

 

For questions after hours, please use our Ask a Librarian service.

Get help when you need it. Check out the options.

 
 

Economics Resource Guide

The Economist - Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist online, which covers recent contents.

Annual Reviews - AR provides scholarly review articles that may serve as starting points for research, or to keep up with research trends in a field.

American FactFinder - (U.S. Census Bureau) Source for population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Provides fact sheets, statistics, and data sets.

EconLit - Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.

Market Research Guide

Your guide for market research and Lab-to-Market classes using UC San Diego Library resources.

ANALYST'S REPORTS

These resources cover background on industries or companies from a risk analysis perspective.

     IBISWorld Industry Intelligence 

     EMIS Intelligence (formerly ISI Emerging Markets) 

     Business Monitor Online 

 

These resources are great places to create company and expertise lists, for networking and primary research (surveys, etc.)

    The Leadership Directories

    Rich's Business Directories for California  

Accounting Resources Guide

This research guide provides high quality resources for Masters of Accounting program and others studying accounting at UC San Diego

CCH IntelliConnect - contains the OMNI Accounting Library of CCH tax publications, notably the Standard Federal Tax Reporter, the Federal Estate and all 50 State Law Reporters, tax law, cases, IRS Code and Letter Rulings, the U.S. Master Tax Guide, and other in-depth analysis of tax issues. 

SEC Filings - Mergent Online or SEC’s EDGAR database

Company and Industry News can be found on 

Business Insights: Global 

Business Monitor Online  

Business Source Complete 

 

 

All Business Topics Guides

All Economics Topics Guides

Find our guides on any topic

 

For questions after hours, please use our Ask a Librarian service.

Get help when you need it. Check out the options.

 

Business Analytics Guide

Providing Tools for Business Analytics Research

Gartner Research Service - Well-known collection of market analyst reports, international news and real-world analysis focuses on a broad coverage of computing and technology sectors.

Datasets - Data-Planet and Nielsen Marketing Data Sets (additional datasets such as Datastream is only available on select computers in Geisel library.

Data Visualization Resources

Digital Media Lab  and Data & GIS Lab are in library resources, click the links to find out what they offer!  Check out the Data Vizualization Guide for additional visualization tools.

Finding Data & Statistics Guide

ProQuest Statistical Insight  -  Provides access to statistics produced by federal agencies, states, intergovernmental organizations, and private enterprise with its advanced Search Tables functionality.

Social Explorer  -  1790-present. This site combines data from the U.S. Census of Population and Housing & the American Community Survey (ACS) with a user friendly interface, allowing the creation of maps & statistical tables. 

DataCite - Search for datasets across over 1000 different major data centers and repositories including ICPSR, Harvard Dataverse, Data-Planet, the California Digital Library, Figshare, Dryad, the Center for Open Science, UC San Diego Library Digital Collections, etc.

A guide to career choice & change: job hunting, internship seeking & discovering your career path

Research The Company Before The Interview - This article provides a list of topics one should research before heading in to the interview. Also, here's the The Triton Career GuideAn all-in-one guide to writing resumes, cover letters and interviewing

Internships >>> A list of  Off-Campus Organizations with Internships and Frequently Asked Questions About Internships

Vault - Grad students can use this resource to learn more about jobs outside of academia, particularly in business, law and nonprofits.

Almanac Issue of The Chronicle of Higher Education  -  an annual publication contains statistical information about the 'industry' of higher education.

All Business Topics Guides

All Economics Topics Guides

Find our guides on any topic

 

 

For questions after hours, please use our Ask a Librarian service.

Get help when you need it. Check out the options.

 

Finance Research Guide

This guide gathers in one place the links to company financial datasets, industry ratios, background information, news on finance topics and academic research articles.

Search the  Wall Street Journal for financial topics.

Industry Ratios - Key Business Ratios (current benchmarking data for U.S. businesses), RMA eStatement Studies ( financial statements of manufacturing, wholesaling, retailing, service, and contracting businesses operating in 762 industries), Mergent Online and IBISWorld

Check here for guides to unique sets of data resources such as environmental economics and behavioral/experimental economics.

Learning Excel for Economics Guide

This guide contains materials for teaching and using Excel in economics and finance

Excel 2019 All-In-One for Dummies by Greg Harvey - Updated to reflect the major changes Microsoft is making to Office with the 2019 release, this book covers basic and advanced functions alike.

Browse more topics here, including financial modeling and interfaces with GIS applications, using Excel and Visual Basic:

Electronic spreadsheets

Excel and finance

Microsoft Excel (Computer file)

Microsoft Visual Basic for applications

Project Management Guide

Welcome to the UC San Diego Library's materials related to Project Management.

These materials focus on the 'how-to' of all aspects of project management, such as evaluation, metrics, scheduling, and even the interpersonal aspects of managing PM activities.

Performance Standards

Project Management case studies

Project Management - Data Processing

Project Management handbooks

Quality Control

Work Measurement

All Business Topics Guides

All Economics Topics Guides

Find our guides on any topic

 

 

For questions after hours, please use our Ask a Librarian service.

Get help when you need it. Check out the options.

 

Guide to Patents

Patents are critically important in protecting intellectual property and companies are investing fortunes in them to safeguard their inventions

This guide will lead you to information on

PowerPoint Slides from Patents Workshop

Business Ethics and Corporate Social Responsibility Guide

This page supports UCSD courses and researchers on topics related to ethical management and business practices, and all aspects of CSR.

These items lead you to background information on ethics-related topics.

Encyclopedia of Business Ethics & Society 

International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies

 

 

101 Mission Statements from Top Companies by Jeffrey Abrahams

Quick Links to Popular Resources

Below are the most frequently-used links to our online economics resources.

Research Help

Adele Barsh's picture
Adele Barsh
Contact:
Economics & Business Librarian

UC San Diego Library

University of California, San Diego

9500 Gilman Dr. 0175R

La Jolla, CA 92093-0175
Subjects:Business, Economics

Quick Links