Skip to main content
Librarian on site
NOTE: No weekly drop in hours at Economics Building this quarter, however, there are drop in hours at Rady School of Management. Meetings also available by appointment at Geisel Library.
Gartner Research Service
This well-known collection of market analyst reports, international news and real-world analysis focuses on a broad coverage of computing and technology sectors. Students will like the market research and IT staff will like its tools and benchmarking contents. Gartner analysts cover a broad range of business functions that impact the technology sector. NOTE: use your Business Systems credentials to login. Gartner also recruits and hires; see the careers section
of their webpage.
Cutter Consortium Membership
Cutter acts as a “global business-technology advisory firm dedicated to helping organizations leverage emerging technologies and the latest business management thinking to achieve competitive advantage and mission success” and UC San Diego has a subscription to its web contents, which includes expert research and analysis of industry trends in information technology. Cutter focuses on these practice areas:
- Agile product management and software engineering excellence
- Business and enterprise architecture
- Business technology and digital transformation strategies
- Data analytics and digital technologies
Its website contents include reports, Cutter IT Journal, the Cutter blog, training and events. Some of Cutter’s content is free, but to see the industry reports that come with the UCSD membership, you must register for an account. Instructions are here - http://blink.ucsd.edu/sponsor/ITS/services/cutter.html. Please use your ucsd.edu email address to register.
If you are interested in talking to a Cutter consultant directly, some restrictions apply; please contact Adele Barsh
or Jessica Hilt
about your research need. Also contact us if you are not finding what you want within the Cutter site.
Quick Links to Popular Resources
Below are the most frequently-used links to our online economics resources.
Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist
online, which covers recent contents. We also have a special link for The Economist Historical Archive
Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
IMF eLibrary data
Includes data from International Financial Statistics, Government Finance Statistics, Balance of Payments Statistics, and Direction of Trade Statistics. Use the "Query Builder" to search for data.
Guide to Economic & Financial Datasets
This libguide covers multidisciplinary datasets, and areas such as behavioral/experimental economics, economic development, environmental and resource economics, finance, international economics, urban and regional economics, and labor economics
Click on DataInsight Web (left nav bar) for the U.S. macroeconomic data set. The other section of Global Insight provides same-day analysis and risk assessment service covering over 200 countries and four industries, providing insightful analysis of market conditions and key events around the world. Formerly World Markets Research Centre (WMRC). Includes country risk and sovereign risk. Industries covered: automotive, energy, healthcare and pharma, telecoms.
NBER Working Papers
This searchable online archive of downloadable economics working papers by the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER). Papers appear here for discussion and revision prior to formal publication in journals and books.
Web of Science
Indexes over 18,000 journals in all subjects (coverage back to 1900 for science and social science journals), as well as 80,000 books and more than 180K conference proceedings. Includes the popular "cited reference search" to identify papers which have cited a previously published work or author. Can also sort by "times cited" and find related articles based on commonly cited works.
World Bank e-Library
The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of World Bank documents. The collection consists of World Bank publications and Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.