LibGuides: Economics: FT.com

Special Features & Get Started Hints

Access

smartphone icon

Get the app

QR code for FT.com mobile apps site

more info

Customize

briefcase icon

Personalize

Discover the ePaper edition.

♦

Find newsletters and Special Reports.

♦

Pick topics to create a personal news feed in myFT

Specialty Content

calendar icon

Higher Ed Materials

Resources for faculty.

♦

Resources for students.

♦

Work & Careers resources.

♦

FT's blog announcing
its latest features.

Authenticate Here to Create Your FT.com Account
Use this custom link to fast-track your access. Be sure to use your active UCSD email address. Please use a different password than your AD login one, for data security. Successful authentication will lead to the actual FT.com user account registration site.
Get Started Quickly Videos
Short tutorials on customizing content. Also included: Course Guides; Career Quickstart and FT Recommends. Below is the main one.
Professional Resources for Students
This link features how to follow your topics of interest and other how-to overviews. It also covers where to look for resources to support your classwork in economics, management, finance, international business and global trade, and business ethics.

Need help?

Technical assistance: customer.support@ft.com
Content-related questions: higher.education@ft.com

The ePaper & How to Get Financial Times Articles

The FT.com platform carries current and past years of articles content. What's not on the FT.com website are available in our other subscribed databases. Here's where:

The ePaper is the digital reproduction of today's print edition newspaper
Archived ePaper coverage includes:
- US & UK editions, 2005-
- European edition, 2006-
- Asian edition, 2009-
- Middle East edition, 2010-

Where else can you get Financial Times content?

You have a few choices now, since our FT.com subscription enables access to Financial Times in Factiva and Nexis Uni (as well as via Bloomberg terminals, a package which is limited to access by the Master of Finance Program within the Rady School of Management). Links below.

Which one should you use?

Choose based on your research need. The native FT.com interface is great, but these interfaces have bonus features that help researchers, such as covering broader contents, and enhanced search engine features that can allow for more complex searches. See descriptions below to help you pick..

The Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2010)
- This link opens in a new window
Includes page images in B&W. Useful for deep historical research.

Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
Search across all FT content (1981- present), plus Factiva provides access to over 16,000 global sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * Factiva.com delivers content in 27 languages, from Arabic to Vietnamese. Great for searching precisely across all FT editions and multiple news sources simultaneously.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.
Nexis Uni
- This link opens in a new window
Covers Financial Times (print 1982 - present); FT Online edition (2006 - present). Additionally, Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Best for searching across FT and a variety of English- and non-English-language news sources. Additional depth in legal news and broadcast news transcripts.

Financial Times via Newsbank (1982-current minus current 30 days)
- This link opens in a new window
Has browsing-by-issue and power searching across all content features; text only; includes downloadable audio format. Note: does not have the most current 30 days of content.

Switching Your Account

Do you already have a paid FT.com account? Contact customer.support@ft.com and copy Carolina Mussi (carolina.mussi at ft.com)