MGT 185: Investment Banking: Books

This practical manual covers all aspects of investing in these two common alternative asset classes, and how principal investors analyze investment opportunities. It walks readers through the different phases of a transaction from origination to closing and has chapters filled with practical examples, cases and Q&A. Contents include analytical tools, explanations of the most common methods used to structure a debt facility and a private equity transaction, and descriptions of the main legal aspects of a transaction.

This book provides an insight in the phenomenon of Mergers and Acquisitions (M&A), including the various forms of corporate restructuring. It highlights the importance of M&A as a strategy for faster growth in the corporate. The book provides an enriched experience of the art of valuation with detailed description of M&A process, deal structuring and financing.

This book provides an understanding on how to value companies that employ non-standard accounting procedures, particularly companies in emerging markets and those that require a wider variety of options than standard texts provide. Readers will gain a better understanding of the development of complete analyses, including trend analysis of financial parameters, ratio analysis, and differing perspectives on valuation and strategic initiatives. Case studies include stock market performance and synergies and the intrinsic value of the firm are compared with offer price.

This book maps the key steps in the M & A journey, taking the reader through how to make the decision to grow acquisitively, identify roadblocks and typical wrong turns, and more. Through compelling stories and surprising research findings, readers will discover that there's much more to the decision-making that drives M & A deals than they ever imagined, and they will come away with tools to help them deepen their understanding of what it takes to succeed. A fascinating read, the text is written by experts who weave lessons that surface from the stories with highly pragmatic advice about suggested mindset, checklists, processes, and diagnostic tools.

The updated, real-world guide to interpreting and unpacking GAAP and non-GAAP financial statements. Rather than taking financial statements at face value, you'll learn practical and straightforward analytical techniques for uncovering the reality behind the numbers. This book also teaches readers the tricks that companies use to mislead, so readers can more clearly interpret statements. Learn how to read and understand financial statements prepared according to GAAP and non-GAAP standards. Compare CFROI, EVA, Valens, and other non-GAAP methodologies to determine how accurate companies' reports are. Improve your business decision making, stock valuations, or merger and acquisition strategy.

This book is an invaluable and practical guide to assist accounting and finance practitioners in measuring and comparing financial performance across firms with different business models, different accounting policies and different scales of operations.

This book covers the full scope of how to understand how to understand the strengths and shortcomings of financial ratios.

Covers nearly 250 operational criteria and offers clear, easy-to-understand explanations. This book is intended as an authoritative resource. It helps the process of measuring corporate performance, by allowing its users to pick and choose the tools they need to best assess their organization's performance. This most recent edition added twenty measurements.

This perennial favorite beginner’s guide to reading and understanding financial reports has been updated. It’s intended for investors, lenders, business leaders, analysts, and managers who want to read, analyze, and interpret financial accounting reports. Designed specifically for non-specialists, this reader-friendly resource covers the fundamentals of financial reporting in jargon-free English.

Geared toward non-profit administrators and interested laypeople, this guide covers basics plus the new FASB changes in financial reporting for all nonprofit organizations, including detailed explanations of what they are and how to implement them correctly.

Presents numerous ratios that represent guidelines in assessing, interpreting and planning financial data to meet the objectives of managing a business entity more effectively. It shows how to calculate and use ratios in analyzing past performance results and making industry comparisons.

This book guides readers through the key ratios at the heart of business practice.

This is a pioneering book that integrates functional analysis of a business enterprise with stock market valuation. It moves beyond the convention of financial statement analysis to first evaluate every function of management and then integrate this into the total corporate functioning of an enterprise, leading to its valuation in the stock market.

This book is for those who want to understand how to use financial data to support their initiatives, solve persistent problems, uncover opportunities, bolster company health, and shine in corporate meetings. It makes 100+ financial ratios easy to understand and use effectively. It includes ratios that are commonly used, such as return on investment (ROI), return on assets (ROA), return on equity (ROE), economic value added (EVA), and debt-to-equity ratio, just to name a few. It also includes the most important tools of finance, such as net present value (NPV), internal rate of return (IRR), payback method, and total cost of ownership.

This guide, part of the Wiley Finance Series, introduces how to build financial models from scratch by providing beginning and intermediate level computer users with step-by-step instructions on building financial models using Microsoft Excel. This comprehensive resource also covers important topics such as the concepts of valuation, sensitivity analysis, and contribution margin. It also discusses how to best present a financial model.

Learn to create and understand financial models that assess the value of your company, the projects it undertakes, and its future earnings/profit projections. Follow this step-by-step guide organized in a quick-read format to build an accurate and effective financial model from the ground up. In this short book, The Basics of Financial Modeling — an abridgment of Handbook of Financial Modeling — author Jack Avon equips business professionals who are familiar with financial statements and accounting reports to become truly proficient.

This book uses case studies to provide a framework for understanding strategic financial management, and includes sections on corporate valuation, ratio analysis and other topics covered in your class.