LibGuides: INTL 190: Breaking the Cycle: How to Build Peace and End the Drug War in Mexico: Primary Source Rich Collections Accessible at UCSD

UN Resources

NOT ALL OF THE RESOURCES BELOW ARE RELEVANT -- BUT JUST IN CASE, I'VE INCLUDED THE FULL LIST

The United Nations page of the International Studies Research Guide provides links to internet and subscription-based resources to access all types of UN information.

The Main UN website has am amazing amount of information, but can be daunting. One helpful strategy to navigating is to use the site index (found at the bottom of the homepage).

UN Military Expenditures Database
UN Gender and Land Rights Database
Contains country-level information on social, economic, political, and cultural issues as related to gender inequalities.
UN Collection on Critical Global Issues
Collection of free ebooks on many topics throughout the world
UN Development Programs Project Website
UN Women
UN Secretary-General's database on violence against women
UN Habitat
UN program dedicated to supporting urban development and the planning and building of a better urban future for next generations by promoting economic growth and social development to reduce poverty and inequalities.
UN Economic and Social Council (UNECOSOC)
The United Nations’ central platform for reflection, debate, and innovative thinking on sustainable development.
UN Population Fund
UNFPA address reproductive health and population issues, and raises awareness of these issues in all countries.
UN Population Information Network
Guide to UN information and website on population issues.
UN Women Watch
UN information on Gender equality and empowerment

Relevant Primary Source Databases Including Significant Latin American Content

Digital National Security Archive

Nearly 40,000 declassified government documents from 1945 to present, organized into collections, each focused on a single topic.

HeinOnline

Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; World Constitutions Illustrated. Includes additional databases: National Survey of State Laws; Religion and the Law; Subject Compilations of State Laws; Women and the Law (Peggy); World Treaty Library

IMF eLibrary

Provides comprehensive access to International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS) databases. Also provides access to the International Monetary Fund's recent publications, including periodicals, books, analytical papers, and statistical tools.

The National Security Archive

See also the Open Access National Seucrity Archive website (which also provides the subscription-based Digital National Security Archive). The National Security archive is an independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. It provides the most comprehensive collection available of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. Its supplementary database, the Digital National Security Archive, provides additional information.

PolicyArchive

PolicyArchive is a comprehensive digital library of public policy research containing over 17,000 documents, from about 500 organizations.

World Bank e-Library

The World Bank e-library is an online, fully cross-searchable portal of World Bank documents. The collection consists of World Bank publications and Policy Research Working Papers, plus each new book and paper as they are published.

Government Resources

The Government Resources Tab on this guide will also point you to relevant primary source material.

News sources can be considered Primary and/or Secondary Sources depending on their nature, the project, and the way they are used. See the News Sources Tab on this guide.