LibGuides: ECE: Summer Internship Programs: Find Journal Articles / Conference Papers / Patents

These are the best databases to search the primary literature in ECE: journal articles and conference papers. Some also index patents and other sources like books or dissertations. These databases also vary in terms of subject coverage, and even how they index the same journals and conferences. It's advisable to use multiple databases for a more comprehensive search.

Some of the databases have the full-text articles, so you can download them within the database. If the article isn't there, click the to get a link to the article if we have it, or a link to request the article if we don't have it.

Get it at UC does not work as well with locating conference papers as it does for journal articles. If you get "This item may not be available online," try the following:

Search for the paper (not the name of the conference) in Google. It may be online but hasn't yet been cataloged.
Search the library catalog for the name of the conference (not the paper).
Request the paper via Interlibrary Loan web form. You can also use the Request option within UC Library Search (must login to your personal account).

IEEE Xplore
Index to IEEE & IEE/IET transactions, journals, magazines & conference proceedings, with the ability to expand the search to the full text (go to Advanced Search). Citing articles of IEEE papers now listed. Not only essential for electrical engineering and computer science, but also other disciplines like biomedical engineering. ******However, IEEE Xplore mostly covers IEEE publications, so other databases should be consulted to identify relevant articles and conference papers from other publishers and societies.
Web of Science
Indexes 18,000+ journals and almost 200K conference proceedings, primarily in science and engineering. Particular strengths of Web of Science include: 1) ability to view cited AND citing works for a given paper, and to find related articles based on shared cited references, and 2) ability to filter results to see only conference papers, or *review articles" about research developments and highlights in a particular area.
Compendex + INSPEC on Engineering Village
Single platform for two of our core engineering databases for finding journal articles and conference proceedings. Covers electrical engineering and computer science (IEEE and non-IEEE publications) as well all biomedical, mechanical, ocean, structural, and aerospace engineering; physics; nanotechnology; and materials science. References duplicated in both databases can be removed.
ACM Digital Library & Guide to the Computing Literature
Full-text database of the journals and conference papers of the Association for Computing Machinery, plus Guide to the Computing Literature that indexes journal articles and conference proceedings across multiple publishers, including IEEE.
PubMed
Core index to the biomedical literature, indexing 5,500 journals in the biomedical/health sciences and related disciplines. Good database for biomedical engineering topics.
Google Scholar
A better alternative to searching Google because it searches the scholarly literature rather than "everything." Very limited tools for refining searches, but you can go into the advanced search to limit a word or phrase be found in the title only. Indexes at the full text article level, so it can be helpful for interdisciplinary topics.
SciFinder
Core index to the chemical literature (articles, conference papers, and patents) and related disciplines, including materials science and nanotechnology. SciFinder is one of our few databases to require an additional login. Each user must register and create their own account. More information about SciFinder, including registration instructions.
Google Patents
Search full-text patents and applications from 100+ patent offices, including US, Europe, Japan, WIPO, China, Canada, UK, etc.
Derwent Innovations Index
Patent index with enhanced indexing, abstracting and coding allow for targeted and comprehensive searching.