Skip to main content
These reference works contain authoritative articles (and some data) on topics in materials science and related science and engineering disciplines. Written by experts in their respective fields, the articles contain extensive bibliographies to journal articles for further information. You can browse each reference work by topic or article title, or search across the full text.
Materials Science Encyclopedias, Handbooks & Standards
Materials Handbook: A Concise Desktop Reference
Handbook of chemical and physical properties of materials. Divided into chapters like ferrous and nonferrous metals, semiconductors, superconductors, magnetic materials, ceramics and glasses, polymers and elastomers, etc.
ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library
Full-text access to the ASTM Standards. Search by full-text or standards number.
Mechanical Engineers' Handbook
Articles on Materials and Engineering Mechanics, Instrumentation and Controls, Manufacturing and Management, and Energy and Power.
ASM Handbooks Online
Searchable database of the 30-volume ASM Handbook, the Engineered Materials Handbook Desk Edition and the Metals Handbook Desk Edition. Extensively covers ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials, including properties.
CRC Materials Science and Engineering Handbook
Single-volume source for physical and chemical property data on a wide range of engineering materials, including metals, ceramics, polymers, semiconductors, composites. Also includes some advanced materials like two-dimensional nanomaterials and amorphous metals.
Polymer Science: A Comprehensive Reference
Articles everything from the fundamental concepts to new findings and applications of polymers, including characterization, polymerization, nanostructured polymer materials, and polymer applications.
Reviews current status of biomaterials, from basic science to clinical applications, the formulations and chemistry of biomaterials and how they’re used in devices and implants, from conventional and accepted materials to emerging prototypes and future directions.
Wiley Encyclopedia of Composites
Articles addressing new technological advances in properties, processing, formulation, design, analysis, evaluation, manufacture, testing, and reliability of composites. Industrial applications of composites are also covered.
Sections: fundamental properties of medical/dental materials; interaction between materials and living tissues; applications of polymers, ceramics, and metals in medicine.
Springer Handbook of Nanomaterials
Descriptions and data about nanomaterials and their structure, properties, processing and applications..
Handbook of Nanomaterials Properties
Handbook with review articles about various nanomaterials, with an emphasis on property data and applications.
Characterization of Materials
Comprehensive coverage of materials characterization. It covers techniques including computational and theoretical methods, as well as crystallography, mechanical testing, thermal analysis, optical imaging and spectroscopy.
Encyclopedia of Materials: Science & Technology
Articles on materials science: applications, materials, properties, techniques and processing.
Comprehensive Structural Integrity: Fracture of Materials from Nano to Macro
Articles on topics related to structural integrity, including mechanics and fractures at the nano level.
Other Reference Works: Chemistry, Nanotechnology, Energy, etc.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Covers all aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering. Good complement to Ullmann's.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry
Covers all aspects of chemistry and chemical engineering. Good complement to Kirk-Othmer.
Handbook of Solid State Chemistry
Articles on the chemistry of solids, nanoparticles, and hybrid materials. Covers: materials and structure of solids, synthesis, characterization, nano and hybrid materials, theoretical description, and functional materials
Comprehensive Renewable Energy
Covers renewable energy resources (solar/photovoltaics, biomass/biofuels, wind, fuel cells, etc.), with articles on the history, science and technology, current applications, and future potential for each. Some economics/policy coverage.
Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry
Articles on inorganic, organometallic, nuclear & bioinorganic chemistry, physical chemistry, computational methods, catalysis and materials/nanomaterials
Springer Handbook of Nanotechnology
Covers all aspects of nanotechnology, including nanofabrication, nanodevices, nanomechanics, bionanotechnology, nanorobotics, (bio)MEMS/NEMS, and scanning probe & force microscopies.
Comprehensive Nanoscience & Technology
Encyclopedia covering key nano topics. Nanomaterials, Biological Nanoscience, Nanostructured Surfaces, Nanofabrication and Devices, Self-Assembly and Nanochemistry.
Nanotechnologies for the Life Sciences
Encyclopedia covering topics on nanomaterials & applications in the biological & medical sciences, including nanodevices, diagnostics, pharaceuticals; biosensors; cancer diagnosis/therapy; toxicity/environmental issues; tissue, cell & organ engineering.