It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Nearly 400 handbooks, databases, and encyclopedias on safety and industrial hygiene, including property data resources like Bretherick's Handbook of Reactive Chemical Hazards (8th ed., 2017), Sittig's Handbook of Toxic and Hazardous Chemicals and Carcinogens (7th ed., 2017), Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials (12th ed., 2012), Comprehensive Toxicology (2nd ed., 2010), Patty's Toxicology (6th ed., 2011), and the AIChE/CCPS series. Browse or search an individual title, or search for your compound and property across the entire Knovel collection.
Undergraduate textbook on chemical laboratory safety. Topics: emergency response; recognizing, understanding and communicating about hazards; risk assessment; minimizing, controlling and managing hazards; and chemical management.
On the ProQuest Ebook Central platform, you can "print to PDF" up to 110 pages in a 24-hour period.
One of our core resources for searching the chemical literature. You can search by substance and look at the biological properties (including LD50) with associated journal article or patent references, or search the references and limit results to "biological activity." SciFinder requires a one-time registration.
One of our core resources for searching the chemical literature. From the substance record, look at the Bioactivity/Ecotoxicology section to see effects, species, and additional data like method, exposure, and further details. The Pharmacological Data in the substance record won't give more than "bioactivities present," so you may want to run a keyword search and look at the resulting documents instead. You may need to refer to the reference journal article for more information. Some substances may actually linkout to a PubChem record, with links to toxicology databases and journal references.
Search across multiple databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases. Includes ChemIDplus, Hazardous Substances Data Bank, TOXLINE, Integrated Risk Information System, International Toxicity Estimates for Risk, Haz-Map, and Household Products Database.
General industrial hygiene information on several hundred chemicals/classes. Presents key information: NIOSH recommended exposure limits, OSHA permissible exposure limits, and NIOSH immediately dangerous to life and health values (IDLH)--with linkouts to these databases. Also physical properties, personal protection recommendations, incompatibilities and reactivities, exposure routes, symptoms and more.
Access to the CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (Chapter 10 - Health and Safety Information tables) and the Combined Chemical Dictionary (quick search for chemical properties, including some hazards/toxicity information).
The Safety Zone blog at Chemical & Engineering News has a of list of lab safety videos (last update: unknown), arranged by topic: emergency response, hazardous waste, pyrophorics, fume hoods, eye protection and more (includes the UCSD videos). The Dow Lab Safety Academy also has an extensive collection of safety videos.