PH 120: Health Policies for Healthy Lifestyles: Public Policy & American Government Refreshers

Introduction to American Government

Navigating the complexities of government and public policy can be challenging, so this page collects several videos and readings to remind you of the key concepts you may have learned in other courses (or missed all together).

Use the tabs to the right for more resources on the US Government, Legislation, Budget, Executive Orders, Regulations, and The Courts.

Scroll down for more on health policy and public policy in general.

S3: Science Safety Security - Introduction to U.S. Law & Policy (phe.gov)
This website provides an overview of the different types of legal and policy instruments used by the U.S. government. It explains the structure of the federal government and the three branches (legislative, executive, and judicial) responsible for creating and enforcing laws, regulations, and policies. Covers:
Laws
Regulations
Guidance
Executive Orders
Presidential Memoranda
Presidential Directives
Boards and Committees
International Agreements
United States Government Manual
This official handbook of the federal government describes programs and activities of the legislative, judicial and executive branches. The Manual also includes information about quasi-official agencies, international organizations with U.S. membership, and federal boards, commissions, and committees.

Congress.gov - The Legislative Process (video + diagram)
Series of short videos from Congress.gov about the Legislative Process.
1. Overview of the Legislative Process 5:09
2. Introduction and Referral of Bills 3:19
3. Committee Consideration 3:39
4. Calendars and Scheduling 2:35
5. House Floor 3:53
6. Senate Floor 4:17
7. Executive Business in the Senate 1:59
8. Resolving Differences 3:29
9. Presidential Actions 1:58

Policy Basics: Introduction to the Federal Budget Process (Center on Budget and Policy Priorities)
This resource provides a clear and concise explanation of the federal budget process in the United States. It's a useful starting point for understanding how Congress allocates funding and sets spending priorities.

Reg Map (Reginfo.gov)
The Reg Map® is a chart that gives an overview of the "informal rulemaking" process. The Reg Map® was created by ICF to help stakeholders better understand the U.S. federal rulemaking process.

Health Policy-specific Supplementary Materials

Institute of Medicine (US) Committee on the Social and Ethical Impacts of Developments in Biomedicine; Bulger RE, Meyer Bobby E, Fineberg HV, editors. Society's Choices: Social and Ethical Decision Making in Biomedicine. Washington (DC): National Academie
This article discusses the roles of the three branches of government (judiciary, legislature, and executive) in formulating health policy in the United States. It argues that developing sound health policies requires objectivity, public accountability, access to full and unbiased information, well-considered criteria, and a fair process.

Introduction to Public Policy additional readings

An Introduction to U.S. Public Policy: Theory and Practice (Open Textbook) - Chapter 1. What is Public Policy? (Katherine Knutson and Henry Adebisi)
Introductory chapter that explains the key concepts of public policy

Handbook of Public Policy Analysis by Frank Fischer (Editor); Gerald J. Miller (Editor)
ISBN: 9781420017007
Publication Date: 2017-09-25
The study of public policy and the methods of policy analysis are among the most rapidly developing areas in the social sciences. Policy analysis has emerged to provide a better understanding of the policymaking process and to supply decision makers with reliable policy-relevant knowledge about pressing economic and social problems. Presenting a broad, comprehensive perspective, the Handbook of Public Policy Analysis: Theory, Politics, and Methods covers the historical development of policy analysis, its role in the policy process, and empirical methods. The handbook considers the theory generated by these methods and the normative and ethical issues surrounding their practice. Written by leading experts in the field, this book- Deals with the basic origins and evolution of public policy Examines the stages of the policy-making process Identifies political advocacy and expertise in the policy process Focuses on rationality in policy decision-making and the role of policy networks and learning Details argumentation, rhetoric, and narratives Explores the comparative, cultural, and ethical aspects of public policy Explains primary quantitative-oriented analytical methods employed in policy research Addresses the qualitative sides of policy analysis Discusses tools used to refine policy choices Traces the development of policy analysis in selected national contexts The Handbook of Public Policy Analysis: Theory, Politics, and Methods describes the theoretical debates that have recently defined the field, including the work of postpositivist, interpretivist, and social constructionist scholars. This book also explores the interplay between empirical and normative analysis, a crucial issue running through contemporary debates.

Guides to Doing Legal Research

Locating the Law, 6th edition by Southern California Association of Law Libraries
This handbook is designed especially for the California non-law librarian dealing with legal reference questions.
LLSDC's Legislative Source Book by Law Librarians' Society of Washington DC Legislative Research Special Interest Section
Contains a collection of resources to help with complex historical and contemporary questions in legislative activities.
Legal Research in a Nutshell by Kent Olson
ISBN: 9781636590639
Publication Date: 2021-05-07
Finding and using legal resources effectively is an essential skill for lawyers. This comprehensive but succinct guide covers research procedures using major online services, free Internet resources, and library materials. Several hundred websites are discussed and placed in context for effective and productive use in research. Discussion includes coverage of legislative history, administrative law, specialized and interdisciplinary resources, and research in international and comparative law. Appendices list state research guides and treatises and services by subject, and a companion website has a regularly updated list of URLs and illustrations of online and print resources. For more information and additional teaching materials, visit the companion site.