Finding the primary sources - the actual documents issuing the policy - will vary depending on what kind of document it is and which government issued it. Policy documents can be legislation (passed statutes or introduced bills), regulations or executive orders (from the president, governor, or the head of a government agency), court opinions, or documents detailing a government agency or political candidate's strategy or proposals.
It is generally easier to find federal government documents and legal information than state, and easier to find state-level documents than those from local governments.
However, do not underestimate the power of Google - current government documents are generally published online, and if you have the title of the document, you very well may find it with a simple Google search.
We also have databases with the full text of statutes, regulations, published court opinions.
NOTE: Institution-wide access ends 6/30/25. Full text access to federal and state court cases, laws and regulations; law reviews, legal periodicals, and encyclopedias; European Union legal documents; and legal guides. Also includes some news sources.
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, news wires, television news transcripts, newsletters, magazines, and trade journals. Business sources include company information, industry news, and biographical information. Legal sources include law reviews, legal reference works, and federal and state caselaw (court decisions), statutes, and regulations. Also includes select international court opinions and municipal ordinances. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources.
Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources such as the Code of Federal Regulations; Federal Register; Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS); Treaties and Agreements Library; United States Code; U.S. Attorney General Opinions; U.S. Congressional Documents; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; U.S. Federal Legislative History Library; U.S. Statutes at Large; State Session Laws Library; State Statutes: A Historical Archive; Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes); World Constitutions Illustrated; World Treaty Library. Also includes special topics databases.
