Preuss School: Finding Sources

Start with UC Library Search

UC Library Search
UC Library Search allows you to search all of the University of California's library collections. It includes scholarly and peer-reviewed journals and articles, books and ebooks, course reserves, special formats (media, maps, newspapers, dissertations, etc.), government documents and datasets, and primary resources, archives, and special collections.

Looking for More?

Subject Guides (find subject-specific databases)
Databases A-Z (databases by name)

For in-depth searches, try databases. Use databases to search for articles, books, newspapers, and more on a particular topic. Choose broad subject areas (e.g., history, art, political science) and interdisciplinary databases, or ones that search across multiple disciplines. The Library has access to hundreds of databases -- organized by broad subject areas.

Article Databases

BASE
Bielefeld Academic Search Engine, operated by Bielefeld University Library, is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million items from more than 7,000 sources. About 60% of the indexed documents are OA.
COnnecting REpositories (CORE)
CORE is a service from the Open University, UK. It aims to aggregate all of the world's Open Access content and provides researchers with access to over 130 million research papers through it's searchable database.
Humanities Commons (CORE)
An interdisciplinary open access repository for the humanities. Scholars can deposit their course materials, white papers, conference papers, code, digital projects.
PubMed
Covers over 5,700 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered late 1940's - present, with additional older medical literature selectively added. Search using keywords or the controlled vocabulary called MeSH. PubMed will automatically match your keyword terms to MeSH terms. For additional tips, see the Library's PubMed page.
SocArXiv
SocArXiv, open archive of the social sciences, provides a free, non-profit, open access platform for social scientists to upload working papers, preprints, and published papers, with the option to link data and code. SocArXiv is dedicated to opening up social science, to reach more people more effectively, to improve research, and build the future of scholarly communication.

Art and Architecture Source
1927-present, citations to journal articles on art, architecture, photography, and related disciplines.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
1975-present. Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching from more than 1100 leading arts and humanities journals. In many cases includes searchable abstracts plus links to e-journal images. Part of the Web of Science.
ARTstor
Library of over 2.5 million digital images and their corresponding metadata. Covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
1934-present, with selective coverage back to 1741. Lists journal articles in architecture, and related fields such as archaeology, urban planning, historic preservation, interior design

Gale Business Insights
- This link opens in a new window
GBI is a great first-stop for business and management information. It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name. In the search results, click on individual companies to open well-organized company profiles.
Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to Business, Management and Finance. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more
EconLit
Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. (Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic).

ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
1966-present. Sponsored by the U.S. Dept of Education; provides access to educational-related literature. Coverage includes journal articles and non-journal sources in education which are not available online. If not online, write down the ED# located in the 'Accession Number' field of the record, and check the ERIC documents microfiche cabinets located in the Geisel Library Reference Area.
Education Source
1929-present. Includes more than 2,850 academic periodicals, full text for more than 1,800 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests. Coverage spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Provides full-text access to over 20 journals published by Sage on topics in education such as curriculum and theory, research methods, diversity, counseling, budgeting, law, standards, and technology. Coverage for some titles dates from 1976. Updated monthly
Educational research abstracts online (ERA)
1995- Covers current international research in education. Includes the following abstracting journals: Educational management abstracts, Educational technology abstracts, Multicultural education abstracts, Research into higher education abstracts, Sociology of education abstracts, Special educational needs abstracts, and Vocational education and training abstracts (formerly, Technical education & training abstracts).

Ethnic NewsWatch
1960-present. Full text U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.
Chicano Database
Comprehensive bibliographic index representing all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Since 1992 includes articles on the broader Latino experience.
HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.

Film and Television Literature Index
1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews
FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals
1972-present. Includes comprehensive coverage of television periodicals 1972-2000, and coverage of tv in film periodicals since that date. Also several other more specialized databases on film research.
Film Index International
Film Index International is a major information resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute.
Film and Television Literature Index
1987-present; limited 1970-86. Covers writing about film and television for scholars, students and the general public. Subjects include film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, reviews

Contemporary Women's Issues
Abstracts and some full-text articles from more than 1500 publications, offering a multidisciplinary focus on gender issues.
GenderWatch
A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. 1970s-present.
LGBTQ+ Life
A resource for literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender issues. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 120 LGBTQ+ specific core periodicals.
LGBT Studies in Video
LGBT Studies in Video is a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community. This collection features award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.
LGBT Thought and Culture
This resource hosts the key works and, in future releases, archival documentation of LGBT underground political and social movements throughout the 20th century and into the present day. The collection will include select rare works from Alyson Books, Cleis Press, Firebrand Books, and major winners of the Stonewall Book Awards and Lambda Literary Awards. Also included will be personal papers of key figures and archival materials from local and national organizations; and seminal texts, letters, speeches, interviews, and ephemera covering the political evolution of gay rights as well as memoirs, biographies, poetry, and works of fiction that illuminate the lives of lesbians, gays, transgendered, and bisexual individuals and the community.
Women's Studies International
1972-present. Abstracts of journal articles, books and other materials drawn from a variety of women's studies databases, including Women's Studies Abstracts (1984-present).

America: History and Life
1895-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. Over 1,800 journals are indexed.
Humanities Full-Text
Includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984.
MLA International Bibliography
The primary database of citations to journal articles, monographs, book chapters, and dissertations in the fields of non-Classical
literatures and folklore. Important source for linguistics and non-technical aspects of theater & film. Ca. 1890 - present.
Philosopher's Index
The premiere bibliographic database covering worldwide research in all subject areas of philosophy. It contains works on philosophy from both philosophy and interdisciplinary sources. There are author-written abstracts for most records. The global database contains more than 680,000 records with source publications from 139 countries in 37 languages. The primary languages are English, French, German, Italian, and Spanish. Primary coverage spans from 1940 to present with additional records dating back to 1893.
Project Muse: Scholarly Journals and Books Online
Search by subject or browse full text scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. More than 700 journals from over 250 university presses and scholarly publishers are available. Coverage begins 1906 or later, depending on the publication. UCSD also has access to over 30,000 book titles.

African American Newspapers 1827-1998
Over 300 newspapers covering the 19th and early-mid 20th centuries; some later. Many titles include only a few years; others much longer. Can be searched with America's Historical Newspapers, Hispanic American Newspapers.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. (Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic).
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for several U.S. & international newspapers, with selective full text for many more. Also includes television & radio news transcripts from major networks. Coverage dates vary. Updated daily.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Cover to cover article text and page images of the Chicago Tribune (1849-1986), Los Angeles Times (1881-1986), New York Times (1851-2005), San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922), Washington Post (1877-1992), Wall Street Journal (1889-1991).

Also includes:
Civil War Era‎
Atlanta Daily World (1931 - 2003)
The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger‎ (1857 - 1922)
The American Israelite‎ (1854 - 2000)
The Arizona Republican‎ (1890 - 2007)
The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
The Austin American Statesman‎ (1871 - 1978)
The Baltimore Sun (1837 - 1992)
The Boston Globe (1872-1986)
Calgary Herald: (1883-2010)
Chicago Defender (1909-1995)
Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832 - 1953)
The Christian Science Monitor (1908 - 2004)
The Cincinnati Enquirer (1841 - 2009)
Cleveland Call & Post (1934 - 1991)
Communist Historical Newspaper Collection‎ (1917 - 2013)
Dayton Daily News (1898 - 1922)
Detroit Free Press (1831 - 1999)
Edmonton Journal (1903-2010)
The Globe and Mail‎ (1844 - 2014)
The Guardian and The Observer‎ (1791 - 2003)
Hartford Courant (1764 - 1992)
Indianapolis Star (1903 - 2004)
The Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times‎ (1859 - 2016)
The Jerusalem Post‎ (1932 - 2008)
The Jewish Advocate‎ (1905 - 1990)
The Jewish Exponent‎ (1887 - 1990)
The Korea Times‎ (1956 - 2016)
Le Monde (1944 - 1995)
Leader-Post (Regina) (1883-2010)
Leftist Newspapers and Periodicals (1845 - 2015)
Los Angeles Sentinel‎ (1934 - 2005)
Louisville Courier Journal
Michigan Chronicle (1936 - 2010)
Le Monde (1944 - 1995)
Montreal Gazette (1857 - 2010
Minneapolis Star Tribune‎ (1867 - 2001)
The Nashville Tennessean (1812 - 2002)
Newsday (1940 - 1989)
New York Amsterdam News (1922 - 1993)
New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841 - 1962)
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916 - 2003)
Ottawa Citizen (1846-2010)
The Philadelphia Inquirer (1860 - 2001)
Philadelphia Tribune (1912 - 2001)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911 - 2002)
Pittsburgh Post-Gazete (1786 - 2003)
The Province (Vancouver) (1898-2010)
Saskatoon Star Phoenix (1902-2009)
The Scotsman‎ (1817 - 1950)
South China Morning Post
St. Louis Post Dispatch‎ (1874 - 2003)
St. Petersburg Times / Tampa Bay Times (1901 - 2009)
Times Colonist (Victoria) (1884-2010)
The Times of India
Toronto Star‎ (1894 - 2015)
Vancouver Sun (1912-2010)
Windsor Star (1893 - 2010)
Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
This ProQuest site includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.
World News Connection
1994-2013. Translations and summaries by U.S. government of international magazine, newspaper, and newswire stories, transcripts from speeches and radio and television broadcasts, and nonclassified technical reports. Successor to FBIS.

Anthropology Plus
Indexing database for anthropology, archaeology & related topics. Indexes articles in 2500+ scholarly journals, 1870 to present. Combines databases: Anthropological Literature (Harvard/Tozzer) and Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute)
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Coverage varies, but some back to early 1900s. Articles in communication, mass media, linguistics, and film studies. CMMC offers cover-to-cover ("core") indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected ("priority") coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Many journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915).
CQ Researcher
1923-present. Access to summaries, bibliographies and analysis of current and controversial political issues. From the Congressional Quarterly, a private organization tracking public policy issues.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
Publications indexed are drawn from a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, sociology, psychology, demography, health sciences, education, economics, law, history, and social work. Covers 1970-present.
Left Index
Access to the diversity of literature on the left, with a primary emphasis on politically and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside the academy and a secondary emphasis on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni contains thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions, statutes. Coverage dates vary. International and U.S. sources. (Previously called Lexis Nexis Academic).
PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service)
1972-present. Lists print and electronic articles, books, and government publications on issues of public policy, including politics, government, economy, marine policy, law.
PsycINFO
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly and includes an index of PsycArticles.
Social Sciences Full Text
Indexes and provides abstracts of articles published since 1983 in over 700 social sciences journals, with full-text provided for most articles published from 1994+.
SocINDEX with Full Text
This database contains full text for 890 journals dating back to 1908. This database also includes full text for more than 850 books and monographs; full text for over 16,800 conference papers; and informative abstracts for more than 1,300 "core" coverage journals dating as far back as 1895. Subjects covered include criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy. Use the Get it at UC button to find full text, print, and/or request the item from another library.

BIOSIS Citation Index
BIOSIS coverage is from 1926 to present and includes around 6,000 journals, conference proceedings, books, & technical reports in all aspects of biological sciences. The BIOSIS Citation Index database is an excellent database for all biological information, including marine biology, biological oceanography, marine ecology, developmental biology, and molecular biology. The platform also includes a version called BIOSIS Previews which lacks some cited-reference search abilities.
CINAHL
1937 - present. Covers indexing of over 5000 journals in nursing and the allied health sciences, with full text for over 700 of those journals. Coverage includes nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative & complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
PsycINFO
1597-present. From the American Psychological Association. Provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Includes journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations. Includes approximately 2,500 journals. Updated weekly and includes an index of PsycArticles.
PubMed
Covers over 5,700 journals in the biomedical and health sciences and years covered late 1940's - present, with additional older medical literature selectively added. Search using keywords or the controlled vocabulary called MeSH. PubMed will automatically match your keyword terms to MeSH terms. For additional tips, see the Library's PubMed page.