Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

STEM - Free and Open Access Resources for Research


More Free Databases for Searching the STEM Literature

  Searches Limit to Free/OA Articles?
Database of 100 million+ publications, including articles, books and chapters, conference proceedings and preprints. Records are linked to cited/citing articles, funding, and patents. Some richer advanced searching options than you'll find in Google Scholar. Yes. When you view the results page, the last limit on the left allows you to filter results by OA materials.
PubMed link PubMed includes 32 million citations and abstracts from the biomedical literature (and related disciplines) You can limit results to "Free Full Text," which includes the PubMed Central database of final accepted manuscripts for NIH-funded research.
ERIC link Indexes education research and information resources, including journals, books, conferences, reports, dissertations, etc. You can limit results to free, full-text materials in ERIC, though this may not skew heavily toward journal articles.
Open database indexing the mathematical literature, more than 4.4 million bibliographic entries with abstracts or reviews from journal articles and books. The PDFs within the database are the abstracts/reviews, not the articles.  
Agricola link The article database for the USDA's AGRICOLA, indexing journals in all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines. No way to limit results.
Astrophysics Data system link Indexes more than 15 million records covering publications in astronomy and astrophysics, physics, and general science, including all arXiv e-prints. You can limit to open access content by including property:openaccess in the search.