Journal articles are especially good for finding current research on a topic. Articles which are "scholarly" or "peer-reviewed" are written by scholars and professionals in the field. Many of the Library's databases will let you limit your search to these types of publications.
Be sure to look at the bibliography of any article that seems particularly relevant, because it can lead you to other useful resources.
The databases below will likely include articles relevant to your research. You may also wish to browse the Library's subject guides to identify other useful databases in a variety of disciplines.
In many databases, you will see a "PDF full text" or "HTML full text" link next to a citation. If so, clicking on the link will bring up the full text of the article.
If you don't see one of those links, you should see the button next to each citation. Clicking this button may open the article automatically, if it is available in another database we subscribe to, or you will see options to get the article:
--Online (if available in another database)
--In print (links to Roger catalog)
--Via interlibrary loan (Request) if we don't have it
Due to escalating costs and conflicts over open access policies, the University of California no longer has direct access to some journals published by Elsevier. More information, including lists of affected titles and alternate access points, are available on our Elsevier guide.
Ulrichsweb is a great resource for finding information about journals. It provides data points such as ISSN, publisher, language, subject, tables of contents, and reviews written by librarians.
You can also easily learn if a title is peer-reviewed, and Ulrichs will even tell you which databases (such as those listed at right) index the journal.
The "advanced search" allows several ways to focus your search for journal titles of interest, and then it's just a matter of clicking on titles in the results list to get the full information.
Urban Studies is an interdisciplinary subject, which means you will find relevant articles in databases covering a variety of subject areas. Some of the databases below are specifically related to the field of Urban Studies & Planning, while others are very general and multidisciplinary. If you can't find articles on your topic, browse Subjects A-Z for more journal article databases in a variety of disciplines, or contact the Library for assistance.