LibGuides: Urban Studies & Planning: Govt Documents

Search Engines

Reports & Documents

California General Plan Database Mapping Tool
Portal to access/query/compare/spatially visualize general plans across California cities and counties. From UC Davis.
California Local Planning Documents - Inventory
Spreadsheet listing local planning documents from all over the state, dating back as far as 1958, at Berkeley's Institute of Governmental Studies. Includes links to online documents where available.
Congressional Budget Office Reports
The CBO is a nonpartisan federal agency that provides economic information and revenue projections for Congress. CBO reports offer objective analysis to aid in economic and budgetary decisions on the wide array of programs covered by the federal budget.
Government Accountability Office Reports & Testimony
The GAO is a nonpartisan support agency for Congress, charged with examining matters relating to the receipt and disbursement of public funds. GAO reports provide insight into the effectiveness of federal laws and programs. An alphabetical list of topics is also available to browse.

HeinOnline
Full text of law reviews/legal periodicals plus primary sources from federal and state governments.
Canadian Content
Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes)
Provincial Statutes of Canada

Case Law
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
U.S. Supreme Court Library

International Resources
Acts of the Parliament of Canada (Annual Statutes)
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS)
History of International Law
Law Library of Congress Reports
Open Society Justice Initiative
Provincial Statutes of Canada
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
World Constitutions Illustrated: Contemporary & Historical Documents and Resources
World Treaty Library

International Treaties and Agreements
U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library
World Treaty Library

Journals and Periodicals
Bar Journals
Law Journal Library
NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases

Special Collections
Air and Space Law
American Enterprise Institute (AEI)
Brennan Center for Justice Publications at NYU School of Law
Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE)
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Cataloging Legal Literature
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Criminal Justice & Criminology
Democracy in America
Gun Regulation and Legislation in America
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
LGBTQ+ Rights
Labor and Employment: The American Worker
Law Academy Project
Legal Classics
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
Military and Government
NOMOS: American Society for Political and Legal Philosophy
Open Society Justice Initiative
Pentagon Papers
Religion and the Law
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
Voting Rights & Election Law
Water Rights & Resources
Women and the Law (Peggy)

U.S. Federal Content
Administrative Conference of the United States (ACUS)
Bremer-Kovacs Collection: Historic Documents Related to the Administrative Procedure Act of 1946
COVID-19: Pandemics Past and Present
Civil Rights and Social Justice
Code of Federal Regulations
Executive Privilege
Federal Register Library
GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions
History of Supreme Court Nominations
Immigration Law & Policy in the U.S.
Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture & Law
John F. Kennedy Assassination Collection
Labor and Employment: The American Worker
Law Library of Congress Reports
Military Legal Resources (U.S. Army JAG School)
Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases
Reports of U.S. Presidential Commissions and Other Advisory Bodies
U.S. Code
U.S. Congressional Documents
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals
U.S. Federal Legislative History Library
U.S. Presidential Impeachment Library
U.S. Presidential Library
U.S. Statutes at Large
U.S. Supreme Court Library
Water Rights & Resources

U.S. State Content
Civil Rights and Social Justice
LGBTQ+ Rights
National Survey of State Laws
Prestatehood Legal Materials: A Fifty-State Research Guide
Session Laws Library
State Attorney General Reports and Opinions
State Constitutions Illustrated
State Reports: A Historical Archive
State Statutes: A Historical Archive
Subject Compilations of State Laws
Water Rights & Resources

Index to Current Urban Documents
(Print only) Index to documents from local governments, civic organizations, and planning agencies from 500 cities in the United States and Canada. We have access to 1972-2006 volumes. Note: most content is now available in the North American City Reports database below.

North American City Reports
North American City Reports preserves the full text of surveys, budgets, statistical records, case studies, planning documents, training manuals, policy guidelines, reports, and news from the five hundred largest cities in North America. It also includes select materials from hundreds of related agencies and non-governmental organizations. Also searchable, along with the Global Think Tanks database, in a combined interface.
ProQuest Congressional
Indexes Congressional materials from 1789-present. Includes full text of bills and laws, Congressional hearings, testimony, committee prints, and House/Senate reports & documents. Also includes reports from the Congressional Research Service, which offer nonpartisan analysis of policy issues.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. (1817-1980)

Urban Studies & Planning: Govt Documents

Reports & Documents as Research Resources

Search Engines

Reports & Documents