Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspapers as Research Resources
Newspapers are invaluable for discovering information about issues as they unfold, as well as coverage of local issues. Most mainstream newspapers do not offer free access to their archives, but the Library provides access to a large number of U.S. and international newspapers. "Alternative" (usually referring to politically progressive newspapers/magazines, but can also include special interest publications) and independent presses are useful for finding voices and opinions outside the mainstream media.
San Diego Union Tribune
The San Diego Union-Tribune and its predecessors are available in a mix of formats.
Online access (restricted to UCSD users) is available for:
Microfilm access is available for issues from 1871-present. The newspaper has gone through various name changes, but all are together at call number XF 248. Microfilm provides cover-to-cover page images of all issues.
Additional San Diego News Sources
San Diego newspapers
List of all San Diego-area newspapers available through the Library.
La Prensa San Diego
Weekly, bilingual (Spanish/English) San Diego newspaper. Archives back to 1998 freely available and searchable online. Find the archives link about midway down the page in the right column.
San Diego Business Journal
Local San Diego magazine, with a focus on local business news.
San Diego Reader
Local weekly newspaper. Archives freely available and searchable online back to 2005.
Times of San Diego
Independent news site, online since early 2014.
Voice of San Diego
An online, independent San Diego newspaper. Free, searchable archives back to 2004.
San Diego Community News
Bay Park, Clairemont, Kearny Mesa, Linda Vista
The Coast News
Carlsbad, Del Mar, Encinitas, Oceanside, Rancho Santa Fe, Solana Beach
Del Mar Times
Carmel Valley, Del Mar, Solana Beach
East County Magazine
All areas east of I-15 in San Diego.
Ocean Beach, Peninsula, Beach Areas
4S Ranch, Poway, Rancho Bernardo, Rancho Penasquitos, Sabre Springs
San Diego Downtown News
Columbia, Core/Civic, Cortez Hill, East Village, Gaslamp/Horton Plaza, Little Italy, Marina
San Diego Uptown News
Bankers Hill, Golden Hill, Hillcrest, Kensington, Mission Hills, Normal Heights, North Park, Old Town, South Park, Talmadge, University Heights
U.S. & International Newspaper Sources
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Dates vary. More than 1500 sources worldwide, including 650 in the U.S. Largely newspapers,local news video for the U.S.; newspapers for Canada, UK and other English-speaking countries. For the rest of the world mostly wire services and BBC news digests.
1995-present. Full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Provides access to over 8,000 sources including global and local newspapers, journals and magazines, and company reports.
Keesing's World News Archive
Archive of articles providing a detailed summary of the world's political, social, and economic events, drawn from a wide range of press and other sources. 1931- .
Cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. and international newspapers, plus selected full text for more than 330 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Note: this is one of the few databases that I recommend using the "full text" limiter.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also industry news, company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary.
A more comprehensive listing of newspaper resources available at the Library.