The UC San Diego Library Map Collection is located on the 2nd/Main Floor of the Geisel Library Building near the Data and GIS Lab and houses maps, atlases, and related research materials. The core collection of topographic maps worldwide is supplemented by topical maps, aerial photos, gazetteers, atlases, and other mapping-related materials. There is particular emphasis on the San Diego region and Southern California.
The holdings are complemented by the rare map holdings in Special Collections & Archives, particularly maps of the San Diego region and Baja California, as well as the historical nautical charts collection.
In addition to UC San Diego's holdings, qualified researchers can use this as a gateway to the major cartographic and spatial data resources of other UC map libraries and of map materials on the World Wide Web.
Step 1: Start a Search
For the most complete results, do a keyword search in the the Library catalog. Select UC San Diego Library Catalog and type in the place name and the word, "maps". For example, california maps.
Step 2: Search Results The search results include all maps, atlases and related material from the general to the particular. The number of items for each resource type and subject category is given (on the left side of the page). Clicking on a title will reveal the location details and call number (you need both).
Step 3: Shelving Locations
When maps are listed as "Maps Cases, Geisel Floor2 West" or "Maps File Cabinets, Geisel Floor 2 West," they can be found on the 2nd/Main Floor in map cases and filing cabinets. Map cases and cabinets are in order, left to right. Call numbers progress from the top to the bottom. All maps are marked with call numbers following the Library of Congress Classification Schedule for G (Geography).
Step 4: Map Cases
Drawers must be fully opened to access the contents easily. Most drawers have a protective vinyl tarp which can be curled back.
Step 5: Arrangement
Maps are shelved in the map drawers face down, in call number order, from lowest number to highest. Maps to be refiled are on top of the brown paper insert used to protect the other contents.
Step 6: Series Indexes
Series maps usually have graphic indexes filed at the beginning of each series. Indexes are usually marked to show sheets in the collection. Sheets not held can often be borrowed via Interlibrary Loan by UCSD students, faculty and staff, or found on the internet. Please ask if you cannot find an index.
Step 7: Sheet Identifiers
All maps are marked with call numbers corresponding to the catalog record. Here, the map is one in a series filed under G3200s, and it is hand annotated with the sheet number.
