Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journal of San Diego History
online access, 1955-
from the San Diego Historical Society. For best results, use quotation marks to search (e.g. "university heights")
How do I get an article?
In many databases, you will see a "PDF full text" or "HTML full text" link next to a citation. If so, clicking on the link will bring up the full text of the article.
If you don't see one of those links, you should see a next to the citation. Clicking this button will take you into UC Library Search, where you can find options for obtaining the full text.
Major Resources for Articles
These databases are good starting points for finding journal articles. If you don't find what you need in these databases, take a look at some of the others available through the Library.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database with 17,800+ journals and magazines, of which 16,000+ are peer-reviewed and 8,750+ are full-text. Also included are books, conference papers and proceedings, government documents, newspapers, video content, and more. Coverage begins in 1887, with material in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian and Portuguese.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
1895-present. International database for research on all periods of U.S. and Canadian history, including very recent years. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and dissertations. Over 1,800 journals are indexed.
Dissertations & Theses
This database indexes doctoral dissertations & masters theses. This is a great place to look for in-depth studies of the local area and urban studies issues in general. University of California dissertations should be available as a full text PDF to all UCSD users. Others may be requested through Interlibrary Loan. There is no need to purchase them unless you want your own copy.
EBSCO - All Databases This link opens in a new window
Lets you select and search across several databases licensed from EBSCO, including Academic Search Complete, Chicano Database, and Urban Studies Abstracts. Additional databases in the list may be helpful for your search. For example, if you're looking for business-related info, try adding Business Source Complete.
Google Scholar can be an excellent place to find new and interdisciplinary scholarly articles. It's particularly good when you are having trouble finding articles in other databases, or if you're unsure about which discipline is likely to publish the kind of research you’re looking for. Note: If you are using Google Scholar on campus or via the VPN, you will be able to use "Get it at UC" links to access full-text articles for which the Library has already paid. See set-up instructions in box below.
MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides articles from over 1750 general, popular, news, and scholarly periodicals. Includes online news images from UPI and other agencies, plus biographies, reference books, and primary source documents.
Google Scholar Set Up
From the Google Scholar home page:
1) click hamburger icon
2) click settings
3) click library links
4) search and select University of California, San Diego - Get It at UC and Open Worldcat Library Search, then save