Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Library Info
Off-campus access to most databases (those with a blue lock symbol) is available only to UCSD students, staff and faculty. Note that you must select 2-Step Secured - Allthruucsd from the "Group" drop-down menu when authenticating.
Find what your instructor has put on Reserve.
General Research Tips
Start by looking at the Community Profiles/Plans pages from the City of San Diego. You should find the current plan for each community there, and may find earlier editions in the library's San Diego government documents collection.
About your topic:
- Consider more specific words (to narrow your focus) or more general terms (to expand your search). For the Community name, try also: official community name, neighborhoods within the larger community, major streets, major businesses/buildings/geographic features, major people (council members, developers, philanthropists, etc.). For the variables, try: housing, population demographics, average income, access to transportation, access to development funds, etc.
About your resources and how to find them:
- Books: an online library catalog like UC Library Search or Circuit
- Government information: online library catalogs, agency websites
- Scholarly articles: discipline specific databases such as Urban Studies Abstracts, interdisciplinary databases such as Academic Search Complete, Google Scholar
- Data: specialized databases (e.g. Social Explorer) or directly from the researchers
- For each type of resource, see the associated tab on this guide for suggested avenues of research
About your search strategy:
- In most databases, you can combine terms with and (both terms must appear in the hit) or or (one term must appear in the hit—good for synonyms/related terms), e.g. San Diego and Linda Vista | Uptown or University Heights
- In many databases, you can use a symbol such as * or ! to take the place of letters to get hits with multiple endings of a word, e.g. communit* will find "community" and "communities"
- Experiment with various combinations of keywords. When you find a hit that looks especially relevant, look at the subject headings/descriptors used to classify that item; then run a new search using one or more of those terms to find similar items.
About your bibliography:
- Be sure to get citation information for all your sources; maybe email records to yourself as a backup
- Some databases can export the citation in a specific format (e.g. APA, Chicago, MLA)
This guide includes the basics you'll need for doing library research for your San Diego community study.
Don't hesitate to contact me directly for research assistance. For help with basic questions, you can also use the Ask a Librarian services.