Skip to main content
UC San Diego Library Catalog
Search for books held by the UCSD Library (including e-books). You also search by title, author or subject, or use the full library catalog for more options.
- Keyword searches will bring back more results than title searches.
- From Roger, you can limit your searches to electronic materials, including ebooks.
- To truncate a word, use an * (spectr*)
- biomass biofuels is the same as biomass AND biofuels. If you want biomass OR biofuels, include the 'or.'
- Search results are displayed by relevance first, then by date. You can change this to sort by date.
- If you find a book you like, note the subject headings. Click the links to find more titles.
- Note the book's location and availability.
- If it's checked out, use Request to have the book recalled, or search Circuit to see if there's an available copy at another San Diego library to request.
- If you see >> Go to electronic version in the record, most of these are links to get to an e-book.
- Don't use Roger to search for journal articles. However, you can search for journals by title.
Key E-Book Collections for Chemistry
American Chemical Society Symposium Series
Peer-reviewed books developed from the technical symposia of the ACS national and regional meetings. Along with chemistry, covers nanoscience, chemical education, polymers, renewable materials, medicinal chemistry, food and agricultural chemistry, and environmental science. Includes the earlier Advances in Chemistry series. [1950 to present]
Springer E-Books Collection
30,000+ online books, including series like Topics in Current Chemistry, Structure & Bonding, and Advances in Polymer Science. Heavy coverage of chemistry, materials science and nanotechnology. You can also purchase paperback copies of some titles for $25. [2005 to present, with the series going back to volume 1]
Royal Society of Chemistry E-Books
The RSC e-book collection, covering chemistry, chemical engineering and industrial chemistry, materials/polymers; nanoscience; biomolecular and biomedicine, environmental and food sciences; pharmacology, toxicology, and drug discovery. Includes the Specialist Periodical Reports and Tutorial Chemistry Texts. [1968 to present]
Wiley E-Books (Wiley Online Library)
Online access to many Wiley science and engineering e-books. Browse titles here
. If you search on the Wiley site, look for titles with "open" locks. [2011 to present, plus selected pre-2011 titles]
Elsevier, Academic Press, Butterworth-Heinemann, Morgan Kaufman, Woodhead, and Newnes ebooks in science and engineering. [2014 to present, with heavy selected coverage of earlier years]
E-book collections for sciences and engineering. We didn't license some of the collections (chemistry, chemical engineering, nanotechnology, materials science) until 2017, but some of these books were published in the engineering, biomedical, and environmental science collections we have licensed well before 2017.