Skip to main content
Journal Article Databases
Both Academic Search Complete and Web of Science cover thousands of journals in all disciplines, but there are some key differences. If the article is not full text in the database you're searching, use to get the article. More information about scholarly sources vs. popular sources, and research vs. review articles.
Academic Search Complete
- Covers scholarly/peer-reviewed journals AND popular sources like magazines and newspapers. Can limit results to one or the other.
- Many article are full text within the database. Use UC-eLinks to find the articles elsewhere.
- Cannot limit to review articles unless you add "review" to the search. This should give you some review articles, but also research articles that just happen to use the word.
Web of Science
- Covers scholarly/peer-reviewed journals
- No full text articles within the database. Use UC-eLinks to find the articles elsewhere.
- Limit to review articles by using the Document Type filter and selecting Reviews
- Easy to see what articles were cited in your article, and which articles cited your article.
- Also indexes books and conference proceedings.
We also have some more subject-specific databases.
Core index to the biomedical literature (5,300+ journals). Consider searching PubMed for any topics in medicine and related topics (including environmental health).
Similar to Academic Search Complete (popular and scholarly, some full text), but with a focus on environmental topics.
Materials Science & Engineering Database
Database that focuses on materials science topics. Some full text, and good coverage of trade publications as well as scholarly articles.
Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database
Similar to Materials Science & Engineering Database, but covers environmental and aquatic sciences. Good for air/climate topics.
Like Google, but focused on the scholarly literature. Under Settings, go to Library Links to activate UC-eLinks.
**Pros: Full-text article searching can retrieve articles that may not come up in the other databases, so good for interdisciplinary topics. Also indexes faster than the other databases, so you may get very recent articles. Can also view citing articles and related articles, set up search alerts, etc.
**Cons: Full-text article searching that brings up thousands of articles, with very limited tools to refine search results. Through the Advanced Search, you can exclude words, do some boolean "OR" searching, and limit results to articles where search terms are found in the article titles only.
What about Google Scholar?
Google Scholar is like Google for the scholarly literature. It indexes articles at the full text level, so you may find articles that don't appear in the other databases, as well as articles that have just been published. However, you may end up with thousands of articles, with limited tools to refine your search (which you can find in the Advanced Search feature).
UC-eLinks to Find Full Text Articles
With UC-eLinks, you'll either be directed to the article, or get a menu like this. If there's no link to get the article online, you can still try Google Scholar to see if there's a free copy of the article available. Otherwise, go to "Request this from the library" and complete the form. We will get you a copy of the article from another library, at no charge, within a few days if not sooner.