LibGuides: MGTP 424: Prof. Research & Comm for Accountants: Home

Librarian Office Hours

Online weekly drop-in hours are Wednesdays, 12:30-2pm during the academic year, via the link after the graphic. The passcode you need is GetAnswers, all one word, all small letters

https://ucsd.zoom.us/j/99556736499
Get passcode from graphic or alt text above

Hours resume April 2

Please use the Ask Us! service or email Adele directly during the intersession.

https://ucsd.libanswers.com/

Additional resource guides:

Market Research Resources @ UCSD
Economics Resources Guide
Finding Data Guide This guide has links to the broadest range of data resources you have access to.
Career Choice & Change
Learning Excel Guide Although this guide originally was for undergraduates, it contains links to materials of interest to a range of readers who range from beginner through advanced level with Excel.
Project Management Resources Guide
Searching Patents
Business Ethics & CSR

Welcome!

Use this guide to find high-quality content easily that's directly relevant for your class discussions and assignments.

2023 Class handout summarizes the resources; provides space for note-taking.
2023 Slide Deck
Has a summary of the main accounting subscription databases

Class Evaluation Link for Library Session
Answer 3 quick questions. Help me improve these sessions. Open through 10/15/2023
Link to the full Accounting Resources Guide
This link jumps to the complete listing of accounting resources available to you in our collections. If you need more than what's here, try this link next.

Newsfeeds

The Economist
Offers authoritative insight and opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology.
FT.com (Financial Times)
Covers current issues. To start your access, register using your current UC San Diego email at https://ft.com/UCSD. To learn more about all the FT.com features and apps, go to our background page.
Tax Notes
Daily news updates on U.S. federal tax policy developments, cases and regulations.

Note: First time you access it: create an account from on campus using your @ucsd.edu email, then follow the “UC San Diego Library? - Register Here” prompt. Don't miss the Tax Topics guide and Featured News.
Tax Notes User Guide: tips on navigation, free content, search features, setting up email alerts and more.
NYTimes.com
Go here to get access to the campus subscription to New York Times.
WSJ.com
The Wall Street Journal now available from their website for all UCSD students and employees with single sign-on authentication.
Quick link to daily news feeds
The landing page of Factiva is the quick link to the current editions of Wall Street Journal, New York Times , Barron's, Washington Post and more.

Check out the latest articles from Accounting Today

Top stories.This link opens in a new window Accounting Today; 04/01/2025The article from Accounting Today covers various updates in the accounting industry, including the Internal Revenue Service's plans to lay off a significant portion of its workforce, changes proposed by the American Institute of CPAs and the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy for CPA licensure, and KPMG's election of Tim Walsh as its next U.S. chair and CEO. Additionally, the Securities and Exchange Commission reduced accounting and auditing enforcement actions in fiscal year 2024, and the International Accounting Standards Board issued an update to the International Financial Reporting Standard for Small and Medium-sized Entities Accounting Standard.(AN 184153620); ISSN: 10445714Business Source Complete Mar 31, 2025
PCAOB, SEC crackdown to end?This link opens in a new window Accounting Today; 04/01/2025The article from Accounting Today discusses a decrease in enforcement activity against auditors by the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board (PCAOB) and the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) in the second half of 2024. This decline was attributed to a Supreme Court decision and lawsuits against the PCAOB. Despite this, the PCAOB and SEC still brought 58 enforcement actions against auditors in 2024, with monetary sanctions totaling $52.2 million, a significant increase from previous years. The changes in leadership at the SEC and PCAOB were also highlighted in the article.(AN 184153621); ISSN: 10445714Business Source Complete Mar 31, 2025
KPMG launches law firm.This link opens in a new window Accounting Today; 04/01/2025KPMG recently launched KPMG Law US, the first law firm owned by a Big Four firm in the U.S. The law firm will provide legal managed services, legal operations consulting, and legal technology innovation, powered by artificial intelligence and the KPMG Digital Gateway platform. Operating as an independently managed subsidiary of KPMG LLP, the firm aims to expand beyond Arizona once it receives approval from the state supreme court.(AN 184153622); ISSN: 10445714Business Source Complete Mar 31, 2025
By the numbers.This link opens in a new window Accounting Today; 04/01/2025The article from Accounting Today titled "By the numbers" provides various statistics related to the accounting profession. It includes data on PCAOB and SEC enforcement actions against auditors, states with the highest and lowest lifetime tax burdens, chief audit executives by generation, accounting job offers on Glassdoor and LinkedIn, growth rate of Crete Professionals Alliance, and employees per partner among the Top 100 Firms. The information is sourced from reputable organizations such as The Brattle Group, Dancing Numbers, Institute of Internal Auditors, Vintti.com, and Accounting Today Fastest Growing Firms.(AN 184153623); ISSN: 10445714Business Source Complete Mar 31, 2025
M&A roundup.This link opens in a new window Accounting Today; 04/01/2025The article from Accounting Today provides a roundup of recent mergers and acquisitions in the accounting industry. Major firms like Baker Tilly, Aprio, Cohen & Co, GBQ Partners, Citrin Cooperman, BPM LLP, Smith + Howard, and Moss Adams have made strategic acquisitions to expand their services and geographic reach. These acquisitions involve firms across various locations in the United States and Canada, showcasing the dynamic nature of the accounting industry.(AN 184153624); ISSN: 10445714Business Source Complete Mar 31, 2025

Website | Feed

Latest articles from top academic accounting journals in Business Source Complete

Issue Information ‐ TOC.This link opens in a new window Journal of Accounting Research (John Wiley & Sons, Inc.); 05/01/2025(AN 184169543); ISSN: 00218456Business Source Complete Apr 30, 2025
Issue Information ‐ Request for Papers.This link opens in a new window Journal of Accounting Research (John Wiley & Sons, Inc.); 05/01/2025(AN 184169555); ISSN: 00218456Business Source Complete Apr 30, 2025
Issue Information ‐ Standing Call for Proposals for.This link opens in a new window Journal of Accounting Research (John Wiley & Sons, Inc.); 05/01/2025(AN 184169556); ISSN: 00218456Business Source Complete Apr 30, 2025
Tax Subsidy Disclosure and Local Economic Effects.This link opens in a new window Journal of Accounting Research (John Wiley & Sons, Inc.); 05/01/2025(AN 184169548); ISSN: 00218456Business Source Complete Apr 30, 2025
Internalizing Peer Firm Product Market Concerns: Supply Chain Relations and M&A Activity.This link opens in a new window Journal of Accounting Research (John Wiley & Sons, Inc.); 05/01/2025(AN 184169544); ISSN: 00218456Business Source Complete Apr 30, 2025

Website | Feed

Research Help

Adele Barsh

Email Me

Contact:

Business & Entrepreneurship Librarian

UC San Diego Library

University of California, San Diego

9500 Gilman Dr. 0175R

La Jolla, CA 92093-0175

Subjects: Business

We are here to help!

24/7 Chat Email us Schedule a Research Consultation Request Library Instruction