Accounting Resources: Welcome

This research guide provides high quality resources for Masters of Accounting program and others studying accounting at UC San Diego

New Resource

Business Journals (Bizjournals.com)

Would you like to read the business news from Silicon Valley, San Francisco or Seattle? What about Boston, Pittsburgh or Atlanta? We now have access to the 44 U.S. geographies published by the American City Business Journals. They come with their associated Book of Lists, rankings of top organizations across many business categories for their respective cities. Regional business news is especially useful for job hunters, those doing market research on companies and studying economic development. Co-funded by the Library and the Rady School of Management. Featured contents:

Career and Workplace, a feed of selected articles and profiles featured in the regional publications that help you get, keep and grow on the job
News Feeds by Industry for articles selected from across the U.S.

Note: The San Diego Business Journal is sourced from a different publisher and online vendor, as is a few of the other Southern California titles. See this dedicated link for SoCal business news feeds and Books of Lists.

About this guide

Welcome!

Use this guide to locate the accounting and auditing resources available through UC San Diego's Library. Its resources are arranged by tasks shown in the left nav bar.

NEW LOOK - this layout is new and easier-to-navigate. If you are a returning user, you will be able to find the same trusted contents with tabs oriented on the side now. There are updated listings for e-books, audiobooks, interwoven throughout.

2024 MPAc Orientation
This slide deck covers the introduction to Library resources for students int eh Master of Professional Accounting program.

2024 MPAc Orientation Activities Worksheet
After our session on 9/12 try out these seven activities to set yourself up for success using the resources.

2024 Accounting Resources Table
This latest guide introduces key resources from the Accounting Guide for people who prefer a tabular layout. Last updated: 09/08/24

Quick Links

Here are links to frequently-used resources, for your convenience.

CCH AnswerConnect
CCH Intelliconnect has changed its name and link. Accounting Research Manager has been integrated to this site and is no longer a stand-alone link
Checkpoint Edge (RIA)
This is the student login and must be IP authenticated. Faculty use this link to login.
Tax Notes
Very current Federal tax news and analysis.Tax Notes User Guide: tips on navigation, free content, search features, setting up email alerts and more.
Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection (ProQuest)
Research database of news and academic studies related to banking, accounting and taxation topics.

Business Source Complete
Research database for all the business-related disciplines + business news.
Mergent Online
Easy-to-use source for public company profiles and financials (U.S. & international).
Finaeon (formerly Global Financial Database)
Financial and economic data covering over 150 countries and over 6,500 historical and current data series. Bonds, T-bills, unemployment, GDP, commodity prices, exchange rates, and more, some dating back to 1900. Note: To access, use the “Login Anonymously” option and choose GFDatabase in the left nav bar.
LSEG Refinitiv Workspace
Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. Workspace is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
Workspace is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.

Barron's (Factiva)
Barron’s is a long-standing business news publication focused on financial markets and investing. Content is international in scope, through a "Wall Street" lens. This link searches across all Barron’s content via our Factiva platform, covering the print editions (1987-present) plus the Barron’s Online content (starts 2008), blogs and podcasts (starts 2022). Alternative access points:
- Newsstand format provides the four latest editions arranged section-by-section, and browseable like the original newspaper. From the main Barron’s link, navigate to Home on Factiva’s menu, and scroll to the US Newsstand section. Barron’s is on the fourth dot of the carousel.
- Individual Factiva articles offer translate-on-demand into multiple languages, or text-to-audio for English content.
- There are direct links to Barron’s China (simplified) and Barron’s China (traditional) editions (starts 2021).
- Barron’s Archive is available on ProQuest platform (1921-2010).
- Online access also occurs via ProQuest’s Accounting, Tax and Banking Collection (1988-present). This version allows email alerts for new issues or topics.
- Current print editions are in Geisel Library’s Current Journals area, call number HG1 B3.

The Economist
Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist online, which covers recent contents. We also have a special link for The Economist Historical Archive (covers 1823-2015).

FT.com (Financial Times)
Covers current issues. To start your access, register using your current UC San Diego email at https://ft.com/UCSD. To learn more about all the FT.com features and apps, go to our background page.
WSJ.com
The Wall Street Journal now available from their website for all UCSD students and employees with single sign-on authentication.
Wall Street Journal (daily, plus back file)
This is the power searching format; ProQuest platform.
Financial Times (minus current 30 days)
Newsbank platform covers 1982-present (minus current 30 days) is great for research queries. Historical coverage (1888-2010) is from a separate database. Remember: for the online app and up-to-the day current coverage, sign up via https://ft.com/UCSD.
NYTimes.com
Go here to get access to the campus subscription to New York Times.

Factiva
Global fulltext news in 27 languages. Focus on business news.
Scroll down on the landing page to the Newsstand: US section for the latest content of Wall Street Journal, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Barron's & more.

UC Library Search
The Library catalog, a one-stop link where you may search for books, articles & more.

Guide to Research

Tax Research Techniques by Robert L. Gardner; Dave N. Stewart; Ronald G. Worsham; American Institute of Certified Public Accountants Staff
Call Number: Wiley e-book
ISBN: 9781941651476
Publication Date: 2017
This volume quickly provides the reader with a working knowledge of the methodology of implementation-based tax research.
- How to Get the Facts
- How to Ask Expert Questions
- How to Search for the Right Authority
- How to Resolve the Question
- How to Communicate Your Conclusions
Federal Income Tax Law: a Legal Research Guide, 2nd ed. by Christopher C. Dykes
Call Number: KF241.T38 D95, Geisel 6th fl.
ISBN: 9780837741529
Publication Date: 2021
This research guide provides an overview of the vital primary and secondary sources both in print and online. It thoroughly explores the different sources of primary law, including statutes, regulations, case law, and agency decisions, along with the sources that hold them.
Federal Tax Research, 11th ed. by Gail Richmond; Kevin Yamamoto
Call Number: Geisel Library KF241.T38 R5, 6th fl.
ISBN: 9781647082833
Publication Date: 2021
The Eleventh Edition features updated coverage of electronic sources, both subscription-based (including Bloomberg Law, Westlaw Edge, Lexis+, Checkpoint, Wolters Kluwer (CCH), Tax Notes, and HeinOnline) and those available without charge (particularly those provided by the government). It discusses factors to be considered in deciding between print and online research. Chapters discussing primary sources illustrate several online sources for finding these materials. This book devotes considerable space to publicly available IRS documents and legislative history materials.
A student's guide to the language of finance: essential expressions for business, finance, and banking students by Steve Hart
Call Number: Springer e-book
ISBN: 9789811940866
Publication Date: 2023
This volume focuses on the jargon, idiomatic language and academic expressions used in the business world. It provides instruction and guidance for international students studying business and finance.

Guides and Handouts

2024 MPAc Orientation
This slide deck covers the introduction to Library resources for students int eh Master of Professional Accounting program.

MGTP 424 Class Guide
Rady Graduate Students' Intro to Library Resources
Generative AI (UC San Diego Library Guide)
This guide provides an overview, plus has special sections about using AI tools, citing AI, academic integrity and more.
Getting Started Guide
A quick guide for new and returning users that describes Library resources, services and support.