LibGuides: Accounting Resources: Research Industries & Norms

Private Sources: Analysts, Pre-packaged Risk Analysis

These resources cover background on industries or companies from a risk analysis perspective.

IBISWorld Industry Intelligence
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. IBISWorld’s market analysis includes industry overviews, performance and outlook, competitive and regulatory environment, major competitors, operational conditions and key statistics. The U.S. risk reports discuss market risk, including industry life cycle, growth potential, economic sensitivity, etc. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
EMIS Intelligence (formerly ISI Emerging Markets)
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, statistics and political news on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.
Refinitiv Workspace
Workspace provides financial and economic data, news, equity reports, and company & industry analysis. Its international in scope and covers both public and private company information. RW is most often used for investment analysts’ reports, public company financials & filings, business news, economic indicators, stock prices, and data, and a variety of instruments (bonds, commodities, currencies, ETFs, futures, indexes, options and more). Unique content includes ESG data, performance forecasts & consensus estimates, deals & transactions (M&A, IPOs, venture capital & private equity). Download limit of 150 pages per day, reset daily at midnight local time. New users complete self-registration here - https://my.refinitiv.com/productregistration.html
RW is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.

NOTE: When you register for Refinitiv Workspace to do market research and company research, here are the licenses to ask for: Workspace for Students; AMR add-on for Students. (AMR="advanced market research" package).

Global Market Information Database (GMID)
The GMID presents reports on customers, companies, industries and countries that focus on consumer market research. Reports include details about market segmentation, leading companies, industry forecasts, consumer spending and attitudes, and economic and business trends.
Global Insight
Useful resource for same-day news analysis of country risk. Our subscription includes the automotive module, plus the U.S. macroeconomic dataset and global country risk research & data..
Fitch Country Risk & Industry Reports
Formerly known as Business Monitor, Fitch now features reports on country, economic and international business risk, and industry reports.
EIU.com
Economist Intelligence Unit provides news analysis and country risk articles. Some may prefer the look and navigation of http://www.eiu.com/ucsd.

RKMA Market Research
Richard K. Miller & Associates (RKMA) compiles handbooks of market research in business to business, healthcare and consumer markets. The reports include market size, sector analysis, forecasts and other statistics. Annually/biennially updated.
The latest reports include:
Business Source Complete
These reports include industry overviews, SWOT analysis, competitor analyses, and much more for selected industries.
Gale Business Insights
- This link opens in a new window
These reports include industry overviews, SWOT analysis, competitor analyses, and much more for selected industries.
Mergent Online
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, financial ratios, equity research reports, and industry reports.
Winmo (formerly Advertising RedBooks)
This database contains background information on advertisers and advertising agencies and fields related to applied marketing. Topic Search leads to current awareness articles by leaders in the field. Access from on campus is limited to two at a time. If you are on campus and get the 'login' screen, try again in a few minutes.
Sports Market Analytics (formerly SBRnet)
Sports Market Analytics provides "one-stop" access to market research, consumer demographics, and industry news related to a broad range of sporting activities, events and facilities. Coverage includes US and international sport, along the dimensions of professional and college sports, leagues, events, athletes, fans, sponsorship, branding and merchandise (apparel, footwear, equipment), broadcast and social media, mobile sports, attendance and trends. There are some directories with links to sports management education programs and employment resources.
ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Includes reports, news sources, and other in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, global economies and industries, and trends.
SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics is a web-based mapping application that lets users quickly create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data for the United States. Access limited to 5 simultaneous users. Try again later if refused. Includes EASI/MediaMark Research Incorporated (MRI) and Simmons LOCAL data packages. (formerly known as SimplyMap).

Associations & Organizations

Industry associations frequently are useful sources of news about market size and trends within an industry. The easiest way to identify potential publications from these sources is through using ProQuest Statistical Insight. Search by topic or association name (if known).

Hoover's Company Reports

Hoover's Company Profiles in Nexis Uni (aka Lexis-Nexis Academic)
Nexis Uni yields a number of useful results, including our online access to Hoover's Company Profiles, which contain background on companies and their operations, plus lists their key executives and competitors..

FILTER QUICKLY FOR *only* the Hoover's Company Records:
- Use the link above, then scroll down to the section called "Source"
- Type Hoovers, and choose the "in depth records" option. At the top, in the Searching All box, input the name of the organization you are researching.

Accounting Resources: Research Industries & Norms

Introduction to Industry Research

Private Sources: Analysts, Pre-packaged Risk Analysis

Associations & Organizations

Hoover's Company Reports