Accounting Resources: Company and Industry News

This research guide provides high quality resources for Masters of Accounting program and others studying accounting at UC San Diego

Where to find background about business strategy of your companies

Look here for articles on market strategies, finance policy, growth strategies, human resources & more

These collections of business articles and analysis offer information on current conditions of companies and industries, strategy, finance policy, human resource trends and more. Your searches can include a company name with keywords like strategy, or an industry name and keywords like trends or regulation

Accounting, Tax, & Banking Collection
This ProQuest database contains highly-ranked global and scholarly journals, current news and trade journals on topics in accounting, banking and taxation. It's useful for articles on the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.

Gale Business Insights
It includes information on companies and industries from business and trade journals, academic journals, industry reports, newspapers, newsletters, and classic business reference sources. Search on a company name.

BMI Country Risk Global & All Industry Global
Fitch is leading, independent provider of proprietary data, analysis, ratings, rankings, and forecasts covering 175 countries and 25 industry sectors. Includes lengthy country and industry reports, financial markets and commodities coverage, plus newsletters and daily alerts. Formerly Business Monitor. Login in with campus Single Sign On (SSO) credentials.

Business Source Complete
Dates of coverage vary, some journals back to early 20th century. Abstracts and full text in virtually all subject areas related to business. Journal and magazine articles; also books, industry reports, company profiles, SWOT analysis, much more

The Economist
Use this link to get to the UCSD subscription to The Economist online, which covers recent contents. We also have a special link for The Economist Historical Archive (covers 1823-2015).

Financial Times (Newsbank)
Popular source of global business news, commentary and analysis on business, finance, and related topics for executives, students and researchers. Stay up-to-date on the world's economic changes. We have several options for you: Most Popular is FT.com access via FT.com (latest coverage, one-time sign up); Financial Times via Newsbank, (1982-current minus latest 30 days; power searching features, text only) or Financial Times via Gale Business Insights (1999-current - 30 days; power search, downloadable audio format for each article; also offers a link to browse by daily issue). For deep historical content use Financial Times Historical Archive (1888-2020).

EMIS Next Academic Research (formerly EMIS Intelligence)
Provides economic studies, company & industry reports, country risk, economic and industrial statistics, and political news with a focus on emerging market countries. Covers public & private companies & global industry reports. Includes interactive data analysis tools & news alerts. Excellent China coverage.

Factiva
Factiva.com provides access to over 16,000 sources including: * 1,000+ Global and local newspapers * 3,000+ Journals and magazines * 30,000+ Company Reports Factiva.com delivers content in 22 languages

LSEG Refinitiv Workspace
RW has international news feeds from Reuters and other publications. Shortcuts: type TOPNEWS to bring up dashboard
Workspace is only available to UC San Diego students, faculty, and staff; only for non-commercial, academic research. It replaces ThomsonONE/Investext and Datastream, and now works across several browsers.

Register only once; otherwise login to Workspace using the main link. You may use web or desktop app version (includes the Workspace add-in for Excel), once you are registered.

IBIS World Industry Intelligence
IBIS World contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.
Mergent Online
Provides detailed information about U.S. and International public companies. Content includes: links to SEC EDGAR filings, current and archived company profiles and annual reports, historical financial and stock price data, equity research reports, and industry reports.
Nexis Uni
more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
WSJ.com
The Wall Street Journal now available from their website for all UCSD students and employees with single sign-on authentication.
Wall Street Journal
This ProQuest site includes coverage of WSJ Eastern Edition, 1984-present; WSJ Online, 2010-present; and WSJ: The Magazine, 2011-present. This PQ version has a powerful and precise search engine for finding specific items or topics.

Resources for Risk Analysis

Access World News
Dates vary, but some historical coverage as far back as 1690. More than 5000 sources worldwide, including nearly 1500 in the U.S. Many historical newspapers are in digitized image form. Largely newspapers, with newswires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, videos.
CIA World Factbook
Latest edition of annual survey, with profiles of all countries and territories from the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Internet Archive version includes captures back to 2007 and archives back to 2000. FDLP Archive version includes downloads back to 2000.

The Conference Board
Includes research reports on key business topics; annual surveys entitled Top executive compensation, Corporate contributions, Directors' compensation and Board practices, and CEO challenge.

EIU Viewpoint with China Focus City Data
This resource contains background, trends and risk analysis on countries and regions. EIU is known for its global coverage of current political, economic, and business affairs. It features worldwide industry coverage for automotive, consumer goods, energy, financial services, healthcare and telecommunications. This EIU Viewpoint platform also includes “China Focus City Data,” which can be accessed under the “More” tab in the upper right corner of the Viewpoint homepage. Former names: Economist Intelligence Unit (UCSD portal), Access China All Cities
Passport GMID: Global Market Information Database
Passport GMID is a product from Euromonitor International that provides reports and statistics on international consumers and markets, including details about consumer market segmentation, industry forecasts, consumer spending and attitudes, and macroeconomic and business trends. It's also a great source to download demographic information to show timeline trends. Coverage is global (200+ countries).
IBISWorld Industry Intelligence
IBISWorld contains U.S. and global industry market research reports, including a specialized collection of China Industry Reports. It also provides U.S. business risk ratings, and selected economic and demographic data. Contents are downloadable as full reports or selected elements, such as SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.

World Development Indicators
Macroeconomic, social, and environmental data from the World Bank.

Scanning Your Regulatory Environment? Think Newsletters

Nexis Uni has nearly 1000 fulltext online newsletters that provide constantly-updated analysis about the regulatory environment of business and Washington policy making. This timely content is uncovered simply by doing a News search on the Nexis Uni home page.

You also may limit your search specifically to these newsletters by path: Advanced Search limit to newsletters focused on company activities and management.

Example: Inside Washington Publishers group contains 25+ titles on a range of topics, including – California Energy & Climate Report, Clean Energy Report, Health Exchange Alert, Inside Cal/EPA, Inside EPA Weekly Report, Inside Health Reform, Inside US-China Trade, Water Policy Report, and more.

Although you can search across all of them inside the Newsletters search in Nexis Uni, some titles have direct links: